Butterleigh, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Butterleigh, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Butterleigh, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Butterleigh, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cliston
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698
Bishop's Transcripts: 1624
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plymtree
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

BUTTERLEIGH, a parish, in the union of Tiverton, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Cliston, locally in the hundred of Hayridge, Cullompton and S. divisions of Devon, 3¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Tiverton.[1]


Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Butterleigh, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Butterleigh, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1624-1837 1624-1631, 1664-1672, 1685-1837
Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241305.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain


Butterleigh on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 460-462. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 19:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,468 times.