Butterton (near Leek), Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Butterton (near Leek), Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Butterton (near Leek), Staffordshire
Butterton St Bartholomew Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1746
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alstonfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office


Parish History

BUTTERTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Mayfield, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N.division of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (E.) from Leek. [1]

Also known as Butterton by Hulme End.[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Butterton St Bartholomew was formed in 1775 as a chapelry  in Mayfield, Staffordshire

Butterton St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1746-1876 1746-1876 1749-1812 1749-1812 1746-1877 1746-1877
FS 1660-1864



Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1660-1869 Mar 1660--1812, 1840-1982 Bur 1660-1935
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1864 Marr 1676-1860 Bur 1676-1864

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474631.

Poor Law Unions

Alstonfield Gilbert Poor Law Union (later Alstonfield Union), Staffordshire until dissolution of the Gilbert Union to become in 1869 part of

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848),pp. 460-462. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. fckLR'Butterton,' GENUKI, accessed 18 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2015, at 03:39.
  • This page has been accessed 3,793 times.