Butts County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Butts County

Guide to Butts County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Butts County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Butts County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 24, 1825
County Seat Jackson
Courthouse
Address Butts County Courthouse
25 Third Street
PO Box 320
Jackson, GA 30233-0320
Phone: 770.775.8200
Butts County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Butts County Courthouse
25 Third St
Jackson, GA 30233-0320
Phone: 770.775.8200

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1825.[1]

Beginning Dates for Butts County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1825

History

Parent County

1825--Butts County was created 24 December 1825 from Henry and Monroe Counties.  County seat: Jackson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

War.jpg

Record Loss

The unoccupied and unfinished new courthouse burned down 1 February 1828 with no records lost. During the American Civil War federal troops destroyed the rebuilt courthouse 17 November 1864, but again no records were lost.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford County  • Henry County  • Jasper County  • Lamar County  • NewtonCounty  • Spalding County


Butts CountyLamar CountyMonroe CountyJones CountyJasper CountySpalding CountyHenry CountyUpson CountyNewton CountyBibb CountyPike CountyTwiggs CountyPutnam CountyMorgan CountyMorgan CountyRockdale CountyClayton CountyFayette CountyGAButts.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal

England's Chapel

  • 1886-1924 - England's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1886-1924. Batch C712271 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Jackson Methodist Church

  • 1846-1885 - Jackson Methodist Church Baptism Index 1846-1885. Batch C712301 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1846-1895 - Jackson Methodist Church Marriage Index 1846-1895. Batch M712301 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butts County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Butts County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Butts County, Georgia:


- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B and C
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Butts County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  •   Butts County Wills 1821-1841 (digital images and abstracts) . See lists of testators.   Georgia Pioneers
  •   Butts County Wills and Estates 1845-1855 (digital images). See list of testators.   Georgia Pioneers
  •   Butts County Wills and Estates 1849-1857 (digital images). See list of testators.  Georgia Pioneers
  •   Index to Will Book A 1850-1896  Georgia Pioneers ($)
  •   Index to Will Book B 1897-1948   Georgia Pioneers ($)
  •   Index to Wills, Appraisements, Sales, Annual Returns, 1826-1841; 1836-1845; 1845-1851;1849-1857 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  •   Index to Annual Returns and Vouchers 1852-1855; 1864-1888; 1889-1901; 1896-1901  Georgia Pioneers($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1826-1886 - Butts County Marriage Index 1826-1886. Batch M712281 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1827-1870 - Butts County Marriages 1827-1870 Georgia Pioneers
  • 1876-1896 - Butts County Marriage Index 1876-1896 Georgia Pioneers
  • 1882-1895 - Butts County Marriage Index 1882-1895. Batch M712283 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1887-1895 - Butts County Marriage Index 1887-1895. Batch M712282 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1879-80 - Butts County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butts County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 17-18. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 15,032 times.