Buxton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Buxton, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buxton, Norfolk
St Andrew, Buxton, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUXTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 3¼ miles (N. W.) from ColtishallThere are places of worship for Particular Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Buxton St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The builder Thomas Cubitt was born here in 1788, and Benjamin Griffin, an Eighteenth Century playwright was the son of a former vicar. Roads in the newer estates in Buxton record the association of the Stracey and Sewell families with Buxton.

The Rev. William Stracey, Vicar, rebuilt the church, lowering the tower and using the flints left over to build Tower House, a pleasing Victorian cottage.
The church, dedicated to St. Andrew, is largely the procuct of William Stracey's rebuilding, although some medieval stonework survives. A previous incumbent was ejected for nonconformity in 1662, and was probably a Presbyterian, since he is not mentioned as among the Congregationalists in the list to be found in R. Tudur Jones's History of Congregationalism.
Buxton is a village in Norfolk, located between Norwich and Aylsham, Buxton is adjacent to the village of Lammas. The two villages are separated by the River Bure at Buxton Mill but are otherwise indistinguishable. Together they form the civil parish of Buxton with Lammas. For the purposes of local government the civil parish is within the Broadland District.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buxton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
BUXTON PARISH (1665) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1894
1600-1837
1600-1872
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1665-1896 Undefined 1665-1925 Undefined 1665-1872
JOIN
1600-1837

NTA 1600-1896
1600-1633, 1754-1837; 1837-1900 (Banns)
1600-1633, 1800-1872
PRTS 1665-1896
1674-1900
1666-1872
TIN 1813-1880


Buxton House of Industry (Workhouse) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Buxton House of Industry (Workhouse) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1837-1880


TIN 1837-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 160

Parish registers
Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, England.

Item 1 Baptisms 1665-1727 Marriages and burials 1674-1727 Item 2 Baptisms and burials 1729-1790 Marriages 1729-1758 Item 3 Baptisms and burials 1791-1812 Item 4 Baptisms 1813-1853 Item 5 Baptisms 1853-1896 Item 6 Marriages and banns 1754-1818 Item 7 Marriages 1813-1837 Item 8 Burials 1813-1872 Item 9 Banns 1823-1925 FHL BRITISH Film 1596233 Items 1-9

Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms and burials 1600-1609, 1623-1634, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1609, 1623-1634, 1670-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish poor law records, 1838-1848 Norfolk Record Office no.: PD 160/62

Overseers' accounts 1838-1848 FHL BRITISH Film 1702277 Item 17

See also

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 462-467. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,888 times.