Byley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Byley

Guide to Byley, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St John's Church, Byley Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Byley St John is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1848 from Middlewich Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: St John Byley and Byley with Lees.

Byley (or Byley cum Yatehouse) was a township in Middlewich Parish, Northwich Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866.

BYLEY, a township in Middlewich parish, and a chapelry in Middlewich, Devenham, and Sandbach parishes, Cheshire--each of which also see. The township bears the name of Byleycum-Yatehouse; and lies near the Trunk canal, 2 miles N of Middlewich, and 3½ NE of Winsford railway station. The chapelry bears the name of Byleywith-Lees, or St. John Byley; and was constituted in 1847. Post Town, Middlewich.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Byley St John the Evangeilst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Byley St John the Evangelist (1848) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1874-1906
1864-1906


FS PR's 1874-1906
  NONE
1864-1934
  NONE
1849-1898
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Byley parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office no.: P100/1-3.

Parish registers for Byley-with-Lees, 1848-1972 Film
Baptisms, 1848-1906. Banns, 1864-1942. Burials, 1849-1898.
1655851 Items 3 - 6
Marriages, 1864-1972. 2262739 Item 6

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 42

Bishop's transcripts for Byley-with-Lees, 1855-1903 Film
Baptisms, burials, 1857-1858, baptisms, 1860-1861, 1859-1860, burials, 1859-1860, baptisms, burials, 1880-1885, baptisms, 1886-1887, burials, 1886-1887, baptisms, 1888-1891, burials, 1889-1891, baptisms, 1892-1896, burials, 1892-1896, baptisms, 1897-1900, 1855, baptisms, burials, 1856, burials, 1897-1900, 1901, 1903, baptisms, 1901-1903.
1647366 Item 6
Another filming, 1990.
1656840 Item 6

Non Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 8 February 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,030 times.