Bywell St Peter, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Bywell St Peter, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bywell St Peter, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BYWELL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; Thisparish, which is about 13 miles in length, and from 2 to 3 in breadth, is on the north and south sides of the Tyne, There are places of worship for Baptists, Roman Catholics, and Wesleyans.[1] Additional information:

Bywell St Peter is an ancient parish comprising East Acomb, Apperley, Broomley, Bywell St Andrew and St Peter, Espershields with Millshields, High Fotherly, Healy, Newlands, Newton, Newton Hall, Stelling and the chapelry of Whittonstall.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/46 1762-1874 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. The images for this parish have not been loaded at present on the Record Search site.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Bywell, St Peter: Records of baptisms 1663-1952, marriages 1663-1975 and burials 1663-1925 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1663-1812 and marriages 1663-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1663-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages (1663-181?) are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Bywell St Peter (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,023 times.