Caddington, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes Guide to Caddington, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Caddington, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dacorum; Flitt
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Luton PLU
Registration District Luton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Caddington, a parish in the hundred of Flitt, county of Bedford, but chiefly in the hundred of Dacorum, county of Hertford, 1 3/4 miles (W.S.W.) from Luton with a portion of the chapelry of Market-Street (Markyate). The church, dedicated to All Saints, is in Bedfordshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Caddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Caddington Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1821-1910 1821-1910

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Market Street chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Market Street Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1855-1906
1879-1906

FMP 1862-1910 1862-1910 1901-1916 1901-1916

Parish registers for Market Street, 1855-1972  Market-Street (St. John's Church) is a Church of England chapelry in the parish of Caddington.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241192.

1626 Subsidy
  • 1626 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/329 membrane 2 dorse) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.
1628 Subsidies

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
Add any addition sites

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 865 times.