Caister, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes
Caister, Norfolk
Caister on Sea Holy Trinity.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAISTOR on Sea Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

A fourteenth century church with Victorian renovation.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Caister next Yarmouth 1925-1926
  • East Caister, West Caister to 1938
  • Great Yarmouth 1939-1974

Church records

Caister, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Caister, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1563-1837

FREG 1563-1812
1563-1837
1564-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1563-1837 Undefined 1563-1837 Undefined 1563-1837
JOIN
1563-1837

The parish is sometimes referred to as Caister-next-Yarmouth. This designation is used by Phillimore and Holley Phillimore 1899-1936

Norfolk Record Office reference PD450/1-11, 20-21

This parish's registers do not appear in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections because no microfilm of the parish is held.

A transcript collection Parish register transcripts, 1563-1837 Caister-next-Yarmouth with index Baptisms, burials, 1563-1812; marriages, 1563-1837  is available in images as a result of conversion from microfilm

Content
Film
Parish register transcripts
FHL BRITISH Film
1911696 Item 18

The transcript is handwritten

Nonconformist Churches

Church records for the Great Yarmouth circuit, 1842-1893 Primitive Methodist

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1832-1869, 1879-1893
FHL BRITISH Film
930327


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

East and West Flegg     http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,333 times.