Calgary Alberta Family History CentreEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Centre, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Calgary Alberta Family History Centre is dedicated to providing education and support for the Family History community in the Calgary area. Our staff of about 30 volunteers are here to help you in your research.
- Language: English
- Location & Map
Address: 2021-17th Avenue S.W., Calgary, Alberta, T2T 0G2
- Location on Map
- We are located on the lower level of the building. The entrance to the Centre is on 19A Street S.W. Please park in the lot directly east of the Centre. Press the Black Button beside the double doors on the east side of the building to ring the front desk. A staff member will answer and admit you.
Phone: (403) 571-3700
Hours of Operations
- Tuesdays and Wednesdays: 9 am – 3 pm and 7 pm – 9:30 pm.
- Saturdays: 9 am – 12 pm.
- Call: 403 571-3700.
- Our Centre is Fragrance Free due to some of our staff and patrons are allergic.
- No food or drinks are allowed.
- Children under 12 must be accompanied and monitored by an adult.
- Director: Sheila Penner
- Assistant Director: Valerie LeBaron
- High Council Advisor: Larry Penner
- Patron Services: Carol Hutchinson
- Technical Services: Janice Cushman
- Treasurer: Brien Cushman
- Staff Trainer: Frances Swendsen
- Please register for classes at: http://genwebworks.net/cfhc
Please come "FRAGRANCE FREE" to all of our Community Classes
Calgary Family History Centre
ROOTS AND BRANCHES
Family History Conference
OVER 20 CLASSES
27 April 2013
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
2021 - 17 Ave. S.W.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Class Descriptions and Registration
online at http://genwebworks.net/cfhc
pick up a registration form at the Calgary Family History Centre
DESCRIPTON OF CLASSES
British Military: An overview of the different military records available to research your British ancestors.
Canada: Learn how to research ancestors who lived in Canada. Basic national and provincial record
sources will be included.
Descendancy Research: Why descendancy research? Some how to's of researching descendants,
including Internet sources.
Digitizing Photos and Documents: This class will demonstrate how to digitize your photos and
documents, and explain the best settings to use when scanning.
Eastern Europe: How to research in the Ukraine, Poland, and eastern European countries.
England and Wales – Basic: Learn about the kinds of records that are available to assist you in finding
your English and Welsh ancestors, with emphasis on civil registration, church, and census records.
England – Advanced: Learn about less-used record sources (such as probate, and marriage bonds and
allegations) and how they can be used to solve research problems.
FamilySearch – Family Tree: Family Tree is an updated approach to organizing and recording your
genealogy online. It focuses on getting the data right through using sources and working with others
to get the best information. Come and learn how to use this feature on FamilySearch.org.
FamilySearch – Historical Records: Learn what is available at Historical Records at FamilySearch.org,
and how to search the records more effectively.
FamilySearch – Indexing: Learn how to get started indexing records online. These indexed records will
become available for free access on the Internet.
FamilySearch – Overview: Come and learn about the many facets of FamilySearch.org, including
FamilySearch historical records, family trees, Wiki, research courses, and much more!
FamilySearch – Wiki: Learn how to effectively use and to contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki.
Genealogy on the Cheap – Part 1: Learn how to get the most out of paid genealogy websites - without
paying. Find out what computer tools are free or low cost to help with your research.
Genealogy on the Cheap – Part 2: An overview of the many records from paid sites that can be
accessed for FREE through the Calgary Public Library and the Family History Center portal.
Included are Ancestry.com, Find My Past, Heritage Quest, Fold3, World Vital Records, and more.
Getting Started: Learn how to get started in family history research. This class is designed for those with
little or no previous experience. Or for those getting started ‘again’.
Google and Genealogy: Learn how to do effective genealogy searches using Google.
Ireland: Learn how to research your Irish ancestors. Basic record sources will be included. Come and
see what new records are now available online for researching your Irish ancestors.
Organizing Digital Media: This class will teach you how to organize your photographs and documents,
so that you can find something in less than a minute.
Scotland: Learn how to research your Scottish ancestors. Basic record sources will be included.
Sweden: This presentation will provide suggestions and strategies for researching ancestors from
Sweden and will identify resources, including church records, census, and civil records.
U.S. Immigration: This class will give an overview of the types of U.S. immigration records available to
family history researchers and provide you with research strategies for finding your immigrant
ancestors in these records.
Writing Personal Histories: Learn the techniques required to make a personal history come alive!
27 Sept. 2012 (Thursday) – Sources and Citations
Can you find that record again? This class can help by teaching various ways to effectively cite your sources to add validity to your research and prevent repetition.
Presenter: Janice Cushman The Lounge at 7:00 pm.
25 October 2012 (Thursday) - Family Tree
With more than 600 million names already there, Family Tree is an updated approach to organizing and recording your genealogy online. It focuses on getting the data, right through using sources and working with others to get the best information. Together we can build and preserve a family history of humankind.
Come and learn how to use this amazing new feature on familysearch.org
Presenter: Frances Swendsen The Lounge at 7:00 pm.
November 2012 No Community Class
Staff Training Meetings
- Please come "FRAGRANCE FREE" to all of our Staff Training Meetings
- Staff Trainings are on the 2nd Thursday – please mark your calendars.
- Community Classes are on the 4th Thursday – please mark your calendars.
- It is important that you attend as many of these trainings and classes as you can.
- The more that you learn, the better prepared you will be to assist our patrons.
Staff Training Challenge
CFHC Summer Discovery Club
CFHC Staff members: Make this a summer of discovery.
At our last Staff Training Meeting you received a four page Question and Activity Challenge. Each week choose a Question and/or an Activity to complete and then fill in the calendar on the following pages (if you don't already have a calender get one at the CFHC). At our Staff Training Meetings in the fall come and we’ll share something that we have learned.
Questions - Choose a question for which you don’t know the answer and fill in the attached calendar. Most important is to record how to find the answer so you will be able to find it again. (If you need help with some of these questions or activities, see what you can find out through the FamilySearch Help Center or the Research Wiki or ask a fellow staff member)
Activities - Do the activity and record something you learned and where you found it.
- Family History Library Catalog. Microfilms from the Family History Library Catalog can be ordered online from home and can be viewed at this centre.
- Our Family History Centre has an extensive collection of research materials, including:
- Ontario Vital Records Indexes
- Birth 1869 - 1912
- Marriage 1869 - 1927
- Death 1869 - 1937
- Ontario Marriage Registrations 1869 - 1914
- Ontario Early Marriage Registers
- Ontario Land Record Indexes (fiche)
- Nova Scotia B/M/D Indexes 1864 - 1877
- Quebec Marriage Index (Loiselle, Rivest, Drouin)
- Quebec Family Index (Jette, Tanguay)
- Alberta Homestead Record Index
- Southern Alberta Cemetery Records
- BRITISH ISLES
- England/Wales Civil Registration Indexes
- Birth 1837 - 1960
- Marriage 1837 - 1960, 1972, 1973
- Death 1837 - 1976, 1980, 1983
- England - Boyd's Marriage Index 1800 - 1837
- England Probate Indexes 1383 - 1858
- England/Wales National Burial Index 1538 - 2010
- Ireland Civil Registration Indexes
- Birth 1864 - 1921
- Marriage 1845 - 1921
- Death 1864 - 1921
- Eire / N. Ireland B/M/D Indexes 1922 - 1958
- Ireland Marriage License Index 1629 - 1864
- Ireland Index to Griffith's Valuation 1848 - 1864
- Scotland Civil Registration Indexes
- Birth 1855 - 1932
- Marriage 1855 - 1925
- Death 1855 - 1955
- Scotland Old Parochial Register (O.P.R.)
- Hamburg Direct and Indirect Passenger Lists
- St. Petersburg - Lutheran Church Records 1833 - 1885
- Crossing the Ocean Index 1840 - 1885, 1889 - 1925
- Crossing the Plains Index 1847 - 1869
- LDS European Card Index 1840 - 1925
- Alberta Temple Records 1923 - 1949
Databases & Software
In our Centre we have Free Access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Alexander Street Press – The American Civil War
- Research Database
- Letters and Diaries
- Images, Photographs, Posters & Ephemera
- Find My Past
- Fold3.com (Footnote.com)
- The Genealogist
- Genline FamilyFinder
- Godfrey Memorial Library
- Heritage Quest Online
- Historic Map Works Library Edition
- Paper Trail
- World Vital Records
Hardware and Equipment
- 8 Computer Workstations with Printer access
- 9 Microfilm Readers (45 mm)
- 4 Microfilm Readers (16 mm)
- 2 Microfilm/Microfiche Reader/Printers
- 4 Microfiche Readers
- Digital Imaging System
- Photo Copier
Staff Research Specialties
RESOURCES IN OUR LOCAL AREA
- Alberta Family Histories Society
- Address: 712 – 16 Avenue NW (Calgary)
- Phone # 403 - 214 - 1447
- Glenbow Museum
- Address: 130 – 9 Avenue SE (Calgary)
- Phone # 403 - 268 - 4100
- Calgary Public Library - Main Branch
- Address: 616 Macleod Trail SE (Calgary)
- Phone # 403 - 260 - 2600
- University of Calgary Library (MacKimmie Library)
- Address: 2500 University Drive NW (Calgary)
- Phone # 403 - 220 - 8895
Here are some websites that might be of interest to you.
- Automated Genealogy (Canadian Census 1851, 1901, 1906, 1911)
- Library & Archives Canada
- Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid
- Canada's Local Histories Online
- Find the graves of your ancestors
- Cyndi’s List
VOLUNTEER AT THE CENTRE(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)
- This page was last modified on 26 March 2013, at 14:42.
- This page has been accessed 4,052 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More