Calhoun County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Calhoun County
Guide to Calhoun County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Calhoun County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 18, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Anniston |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Calhoun County Courthouse 1702 Noble Street Anniston, AL 36201 Phone: (256) 231-1750 County Website |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage records 1834-1979
Registrar in Chancery has divorce records
Clerk Circuit Court has Court Records[1]
History
Parent County
1832--Calhoun County was created 18 December 1832 from the Creek Cession of 1832.
County seat: Anniston [2]
Calhoun County Alabama was created on 18 December 1832 and was originally named Benton County. There is no parent county because Calhoun (then Benton) County was created from the 1832 Creek Cession. On 29 Jan 1858 the name was changed to Calhoun County.
Record Loss
1861 and 1895 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Alabama Minorities has information specific to Alabama African Americans.
Biography
Biographies of many notable residents of Calhoun County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 584.
- Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Calhoun County, Alabama (Town of Oxford) begins on page 112.
Cemeteries
There are approximately 150 - 200 cemeteries in Calhoun County. They range in size from single gravesites to over 3,000 burials. Research is currently ongoing to locate and pin-point cemetery locations with GPS. As of this time 130 have been located with GPS. Other cemeteries are known but are on private property. Over 90 cemeteries have yet to be located or eliminated as duplicates with different names in different listings.
Located Cemeteries--
- Calhoun County, Alabama cemeteries and memorial pages at FindAGrave
- Calhoun County, Alabama tombstone transcriptions at Interment.net
Additional Calhoun County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1, Vol. 3, and Vol. 6 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Church Records
Census
For tips on accessing Calhoun County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 14,260 | — |
| 1850 | 17,163 | 20.4% |
| 1860 | 21,539 | 25.5% |
| 1870 | 13,980 | −35.1% |
| 1880 | 19,591 | 40.1% |
| 1890 | 33,835 | 72.7% |
| 1900 | 34,874 | 3.1% |
| 1910 | 39,115 | 12.2% |
| 1920 | 47,822 | 22.3% |
| 1930 | 55,611 | 16.3% |
| 1940 | 63,319 | 13.9% |
| 1950 | 79,539 | 25.6% |
| 1960 | 95,878 | 20.5% |
| 1970 | 103,092 | 7.5% |
| 1980 | 119,761 | 16.2% |
| 1990 | 116,034 | −3.1% |
| 2000 | 112,249 | −3.3% |
| 2010 | 118,572 | 5.6% |
| Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml. through 1960 Benton County until 1858 | ||
Court Records
Directories
Calhoun County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- 1931 - Polk's Anniston City Directory, 1931 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Calhoun County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Calhoun County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.163 E7bg.
Local Histories
- Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Calhoun County, Alabama begins on page 111.
Maps
- Family Maps of Calhoun County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Calhoun County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Calhoun County.
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H "Sandy Williams' Guards"
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and I
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company G, Floyd Bush Rangers
- - 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Alexandria Rifle Company"
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "Pope Walker Guards"
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Choccolocco Rifles"
- - 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- - 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- - 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and E
- - 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- - 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 48th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I and K
- - 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, formerly Company A, 2nd Battalion
- - 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company A and D
- - 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
- Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- 1837-1895 - Jacksonville Republican
- 1929-1976 - Anniston Star at Ancestry ($).
Probate Records
- 1830-1976 - Calhoun County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Calhoun County is in District 3.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1881-1930 - Alabama, Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1815, 1833-1868, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1815, 1833-1868, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1834-1927 - Calhoun County Marriage Books B2-N Index 1834-1927 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1881-1952 - Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry– ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Vital Record Substitutes
A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Calhoun County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs:
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Calhoun County has one book.
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Public Library of Anniston - Calhoun County
108 E. 10th St.
Anniston, Alabama 36201
Telephone: 256-237-8501
- Their Alabama Room collections include local history and genealogical records of Calhoun County.
Family History Center
- 1217 W Lenlock Ln
Anniston, Calhoun, Alabama, United States
Phone: 256-820-5828
Hours: 1st, 2nd, 3rd Sat 9am-12pm;
Wed 6pm-9pm;
or call for appointment.
- 1217 W Lenlock Ln
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Calhoun County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Calhoun County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Jackson State Univerisity Yearbook Digital Project: The Library is currently digitizing the entire run of the Jacksonville State University yearbooks. The yearbooks began publication in 1926 under the name Teacola (some volumes spelled "Teacoala"), which they held until 1933, when the title changed to the Mimosa. The Mimosa was not published immediately preceding and during World War II, so there are no volumes for the years 1934-1947. Print copies of the yearbooks can be found in the Library's reference collection on the 5th floor, and also in closed stacks in the 10th floor Alabama Gallery.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calhoun County p. 35. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:03.
- This page has been accessed 3,978 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

