Calhoun County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Calhoun County

Guide to Calhoun County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Calhoun County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Calhoun County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 6, 1850
County Seat Hampton
Courthouse
Address Calhoun County Courthouse
Main Street
Hampton, AR 71744
Phone: 870.798.2517
Adopt-a-wiki page
ARGenWeb.JPG This page adopted by:
ARGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Calhoun County Courthouse
Main Street
Hampton, AR 71744
Phone: 870.798.2517

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1851, divorce, probate and court records from 1880.[1]

Beginning years for Calhoun County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1851 1914* 1880 1851 1880
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1850--Calhoun County was created 6 December 1850 from Dallas and Ouachita Counties. County seat: Hampton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog: none as of 10/2014

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bradley  • Cleveland  • Dallas  • Ouachita  • Union

Calhoun CountyBradley CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyOuachita CountyClark CountyDallas CountyCleveland CountyDrew CountyAshley CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountyARCalhoun.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Calhoun County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Calhoun County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago: The Goodspeed Publishing Co.1889.
  • Russell, Jesse Lewis. Behind these Ozark hills : history - reminiscences - traditions featuring the author's family, biographical sketches of outstanding descendants of pioneers. New York, New York : Hobson Book Press, 1947.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • There are about 350 archaeological sites known in Calhoun County, testifying to the habitation of Native Americans in the region for thousands of years. The last native residents are likely to have been the ancestors of the historic Koroa Indians.
  • Pre 1800 - French-Canadian hunters, trappers, and traders were probably the first Europeans to visit the area.
  • 1804 - William Dunbar and George Hunter were officially the first American citizens to visit what is now Calhoun County with their exploration of the Red, Black, and Ouachita rivers.
  • 1800-1840 - Settlers from other states began to arrive. Many families from Alabama, Georgia, and Tennessee chose this area. to settle.
  • 1861-1874 - With over 400 soldiers from the county involved in the Civil War, farming, commerce, and immigration almost came to a standstill.
  • 1880s - The county did not recover economically until the St. Louis and Southwestern Railroad, passed through the northwestern corner of the county.
  • 1920s - The population reached a peak never to be surpassed.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online statewide Civil War collections include: (See Arkansas Military Records for more information)


Regiments. Service men in Calhoun County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Calhoun County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company A
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Calhoun County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1851-1936 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian records 1861-1936; Claims against estates 1851-1899; Minutes 1851-1911; Probate records 1851-1911.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Calhoun County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Calhoun County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Calhoun County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Calhoun County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Calhoun County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 October 2014, at 21:14.
  • This page has been accessed 10,438 times.