Callaway County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Callaway County

Guide to Callaway County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Callaway County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 25, 1820
County Seat Fulton
Courthouse
Address Callaway County Courthouse
10 E 5th Street
Fulton, MO 65251-1700
Phone: 573.642.0730
Callaway County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1888;
County Recorder has marriage and land records; Clerk
Ciruit Court has divorce records; Probate Judge has
probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1820--Callaway County was created 25 November 1820 from Montgomery County. County seat: Fulton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Boone  • Cole  • Montgomery  • Osage

Callaway CountyAudrain CountyMontgomery CountyBoone CountyOsage CountyMaries CountyMiller CountyGasconade CountyCole CountyMoniteau CountyCooper CountyHoward CountyRalls CountyLincoln CountyWarren CountyFranklin CountyPike CountyCrawford CountyPhelps CountyCamden CountyMorgan CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountySaline CountyChariton CountyMOCallaway.jpg


Resources

African American

  • 1865-1915 - Callaway County Colored Marriage Books A thru C Index 1865-1915. Batch M514703 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Callaway County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Callaway County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Jones, Jefferson F. "Missouri has 113 counties and 1 kingdom". p. 88. last article in publication.
  • Williamson, Hugh P. The Kingdom of Callaway.original published: [s.l.] : [s.n.], 19--. 80 p.
  • History of Callaway County, Missouri : written and compiled from the most authentic official and private sources, including a history of its townships, towns and villages : together with a condensed history of Missouri, a reliable and detailed history of Callaway County--its pioneer record, resources, biographical sketches of prominent citizens, general and local statistics of great value, incidents and reminiscences. 1884 edition published by National Historical Company, St. Louis.

Maps

Mocallaway.jpg

Military


Civil War
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Callaway County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1871 - Callaway County Birth Index 1865-1871. Batch C514703 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers