Callow, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Callow, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Callow, Herefordshire
Callow St+Mary Herefordshire.JPG
Callow St+Mary Herefordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576; For more records see Dewsall
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Callow is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire Callow Herefordshire Wikipedia

Callow St Mary was originally  formed as a chapelry of Dewsall, Herefordshire Ancient Parish; the Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The modern parish is Dewsall with Callow and the Parish Church is Dewsall St Michael; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

See also Herefordshire Churches for Dewsall with Callow St Michael church.


CALLOW (St. Michael), a parish, in the hundred of Webtree, union and county of Hereford, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from Hereford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

It is advisable to search the Dewsall, Herefordshire records as Callow was a chapelry within that Ancient Parishalthough licensed for marriages and burials.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers referenceAH44 and Bishop's transcripts 1659-1849

AH44/1 General register 1576-1635 (transcribed under reference AP 79 in the Record Office Search Room early registers in latin and Old English)

AH44/2 General register 1678-1738 additions include names of Parish officers 1680-1724 and note relating to the repair of the church c. 1680).

AH44/3 General register 1741-1789 (Marriages to 1754)

AH44/4 Baptisms and burials 1789-1812

AH 44/5 Marriages and Banns 1764-1809

AH 44/6 Marriages, 1813-1835.
(Loose inside: Marriage Licences 1835 - 71 and Death Certificates 1847 - 76).

L26 Overseers records

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Callow

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Callow

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 471-474. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:34.
  • This page has been accessed 2,581 times.