Calloway County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Calloway County

Guide to Calloway County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Calloway County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Calloway County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 19, 1821
County Seat Murray
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Calloway Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Calloway County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Calloway County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1823 1852 1830 1822 1836
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Calloway County Courthouse, Murray, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Calloway County Courthouse
101 S 5th Street
Murray, KY 42071
Phone: 270.767.0429[1]

Calloway County Kentucky History

First Calloway County Courthouse, Central Park, Murray, Ky. (Originally stood at Wadesboro, Ky.) Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Parent County

1821--Calloway County was created 19 December 1821 from Hickman County.
County seat: Murray [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1906--A disaster destroyed most records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Calloway County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Almo Faxon Kirksey Pleasant Hill
Almo Heights Five Points Lynn Grove Pottertown
Backusburg Fort Heiman Midway Protemus
Bakers Crossroads Hamlin Murray Shiloh
Boatwright Harris Grove New Concord Stella
Coldwater Hazel New Providence Wadesboro
Crossland Hico Penny Wiswell
Dexter Irvin Cobb Resort

Neighboring Counties

Calloway County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kycalloway.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Biographies

  • KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Calloway County, Kentucky by Battle, Perrin, and Kniffin are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.


Census

For tips on accessing Calloway County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Calloway County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Calloway County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Calloway County, Kentucky:

Confederate soldiers

- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry, Company G

Union soldiers

- 15th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry, Company D
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Calloway County.

For more information about the battle including maps, see the Wikipedia article, Battle of Fort Henry.

Other Military Resources Include:

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Calloway County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Calloway County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Calloway County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Calloway County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Calloway County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Calloway County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517171 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874 - Calloway County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517172 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Calloway County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517173 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1852-1859 - Calloway County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517171 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Calloway County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517174 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Calloway County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517175 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Calloway County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Calloway County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Calloway County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calloway County, Kentucky page 269, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 21 August 2012)
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 17:40.
  • This page has been accessed 18,532 times.