Calton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Calton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Calton, Staffordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow; South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne PLU
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1760; For more records see Blore Ray, Mayfield, and Waterfall
Bishop's Transcripts: 1809
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alstonfield; Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CALTON, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Blore, N. division, and partly in the parishes of Croxden, Mayfield, and Waterfall, S. division, of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 5¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Ashbourn, on the road to Leek. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Calton St Mary is a former chapelry in Blore Ray, Mayfield, Waterfall, Croxden which was formed as parish in 1902

Calton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
CALTON (1690) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1762-1914


FMP 1762-1902 1762-1902
FS 1809-1844


NBI

1690-1835

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1760-1792, 1813-1915 Mar 1903-1982 Bur 1907-1992
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1809-1844 Mar none Bur none

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Calton/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-479. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 23:34.
  • This page has been accessed 2,801 times.