Calverleigh, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Calverleigh, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Calverleigh, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tiverton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton PLU
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tiverton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CALVERLEIGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Tiverton, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (N. W.) from Tiverton. There is a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-479. Date accessed and adapted: 25 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,924 times.