Calverley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Calverley

Calverley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bradford PLU
Registration District Bradford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CALVERLEY (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire; containing the chapelries of Idle and Pudsey; other places of worship include: Primative Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.[1]

CALVERLEY (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding ofYork, 5 miles (N. E.) from Bradford; containing, withthe township of Bolton and the chapelries of Idle andPudsey, 21,039 inhabitants, of whom 4142 are in the township of Calverley cum Farsley. There are some places of worship for dissenters. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Calverley, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
IARC = Archive.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
Calverley, Yorkshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1574-1812 1574-1812 1574-1812 1574-1812 1574-1812 1574-1812
FMP 1596-1720 1596-1720 1596-1720
FS 1574-1876 1596-1873 1813-1896
HATH 1574-1680 1574-1680 1596-1680
IARC 1574-1720 1596-1720 1596-1720
JOIN 1596-1837
List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1574.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464258.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson John M., uk/descriptions, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London Edinburgh: 1870;
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-479. URL: Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,819 times.