Camas County, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IdahoGotoarrow.pngCamas County

Guide to Camas County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Sunrise at Camas Prairie, Camas County, Washington State

Idaho Wildlife Management Units.png Idaho
Online Records





Quick start:


Contents

County Courthouse

Camas County Courthouse
501 Soldier Road
Fairfield, ID 83327-0430
Phone: (208) 764-2242
Fax: (208) 764-2349

County Clerk has marriage, divorce and court records from 1917 and incomplete burial records.
Probate Court has probate records from 1890. [1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

1917 --Camas County was created 6 February 1917 from Blaine County. County seat: Fairfield

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

This list of places in Camas County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Camas County in Virtual Earth.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Camas County, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Camas County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Fairfield[2].

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Camas County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Camas County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19201,730
19301,411−18.4%
19401,360−3.6%
19501,079−20.7%
1960917−15.0%
1970728−20.6%
198081812.4%
1990727−11.1%
200099136.3%
sources:[3][4]



For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Church

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
  • The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Camas County, Idaho prior to 1950.
  • Fairfield Branch

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Camas County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Camas County courthouse in Fairfield, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

The records of the Miscellaneous records in the courts of Camas County that have been microfilmed are included in the Miscellaneous Series below.

History

The following histories have been published and are available in various libraries nationwide

  • A Brief History of Camas Prairie, by Lucy M. Nelson
  • A History of Camas Prairie, by John F Ryan
  • Lasting legacy, 1890-1990, Camas Prairie, Idaho, by Nan Reedy and Lena Nash Rice
  • Settlement of Oregon and Western Idaho by Utah Pioneers, by Mary N Porter Harris

The Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series includes a brief history "Camas Prairie (Camas County)" available online.

Land and Property

Land and property records are usually found in the county in which the transactions took place. To view the Camas county records one would have to visit the county courthouse in Fairfield, Idaho.

Both the Idaho State Archives and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City have microfilm copies of the Homestead records of Camas County 1885-1983. The films at the Archives can be accessed by visiting in Boise, Idaho. The films at the Family History Library can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers.

Maps

Idcamas.jpg

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Camas County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452112) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Camas County. The originals are held in the Camas County courthouse in Fairfield, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers.

Newspapers

Historical

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed several Camas County newspapers:

Camas County Courier: 1914:1:1-1968:12:26
Camas Prairie Courier: 1905:11:9-1913:12:25
Camas Prairie Courier: 1905:11:9-1913:12:25
Fairfield Sun: 1911:11:23-1913:10:16
Hill City News: 1913:12:12 -1915:4:2
New Soldier Sun: 1911:11:23-1912:8:1
Snowshoe: 1987:10:28-1991:10:9
Snowshoe: 1986:12:3-1988:8:3

Probate

The existing original probate records of Camas County are located at the county courthouse located at Fairfield, Idaho, and can be accessed by visiting there.

The Idaho State Archives has copies of the Wills of Camas County (1897-1984) which can be viewed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

Copies of the Wills probated in Camas County (1897-1984) are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City,Utah and are available for viewing there or at any of its affiliatedFamily History Centers.

Taxation

Existing original tax assessment rolls for Camas County should be in the county courthouse in Fairfield or in the Idaho State Archives in Boise.

Vital Records

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Idaho Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth
Marriage

A number of Camas County marriages (1917-1948) have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, and the film is available for viewing in Salt Lake City or in one of its affiliateFamily History Centers.

Death

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

  • Camas County District Library‎
519 1st Street West; P.O. Box 292 , Fairfield, ID 83327
(208) 764-2553‎ 
  • Camas County Historical Society

124 East Camas Avenue (PO Box 571)

Fairfield, ID 83327

tgpeck@rtci.net

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camas, Idaho page 177, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  3. census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
  4. quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 November 2014, at 02:25.
  • This page has been accessed 27,322 times.