Camberwell St Giles, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes


Camberwell St Giles, Surrey
St+Giles Camberwell+Church+Street London+SE5.jpg
St+Giles Camberwell+Church+Street London+SE5
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Camberwell PLU
Registration District Camberwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557; Separate registers exist for East Dulwich beginning 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Winchester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAMBERWELL (St. Giles), a parish and union, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, 3¼ miles (S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]



Camberwell St Giles, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Church records

Online Records

Dulwich, a village and hamlet in Camberwell St Giles Parish, has some chapel registers mostly transcribed and are available for search online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

Online Camberwell St Giles Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1557
1557
1557
Images
1557-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1856 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1763-1764
1801-1845
FamilySearch[6] 1626-1772 findmypast[7] 1558-1796 findmypast[8]
1763-1764
1801-1837
FamilySearch[9] 1769-1812 BritishOrigins[10]

Camberwell: Dulwich College Chapel Burials 1616-1980 Greater London Burials (£)[10]

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
Dulwich College Chapel (1616) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1616-1845 1634-1754 None
FMP None 1822-1837 None
AC None None None
FREG None None None
DULWICH Chapel (1879) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1877-1900 None None
FMP None 1822-1837 None
AC None None None
FREG None None None


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474651.


Poor Law Unions

Camberwell Poor Law Union, Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[11]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Giles' Church, Camberwell

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Giles, Camberwell in Southwark Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Camberwell St Giles in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Camberwell St Giles in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Camberwell St Giles in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batches P006261-P006262, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  9. Batches M006261, M006262, M006263, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  10. 10.0 10.1 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  11. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 8,597 times.