Camborne, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Camborne, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Camborne, Cornwall
Camborne St Martin contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
Camborne St Martin contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAMBORNE (St. Martin), a market-town and parish, in the union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Redruth, and 267 (S. W.) from London, on the road from Truro to Penzance. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Bryanites.[1]

Camborne is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Adjewhells, Barripper, and Roseworthy.

The church is dedicated to St Martin and St Meriadoc: it is entirely of granite, of 15th century date and is listed Grade I. There is a western tower and the aisles are identical in design: an outer south aisle was added in 1878. St Martin was added to the original dedication to St Meriadoc in the 15th century.

An inscribed altar stone found at Chapel Ia, Troon (now set in the altar of the parish church), and dated to the tenth or eleventh centuries, attests to the existence of a settlement then. The chapel of St Ia was recorded in 1429 and a holy well was nearby. The site was called Fenton-ear (i.e. the well of Ia). The stone is very similar to one now in the garden at Pendarves, used as the base for a sundial.

Camborne churchyard contains a number of crosses collected from nearby sites: the finest is one found in a well at Crane in 1896 but already known from William Borlase's account of it when it was at Fenton-ear. Two other chapels are known to have existed in the medieval period: one not far from the parish church was dedicated to Our Lady and St Anne and one at Menadarva (derived from Merther-Derwa) was one of Celtic origin dedicated to St Derwa, Virgin, but mentioned in 1429

Neighbouring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 can be used to locate neighbouring parishes by clicking on the "Options" tab and selecting "List Contiguous Parishes."

Carnmenellis, Cornwall Illogan, Cornwall Tuckingmill,Cornwall

Resources

Civil registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Camborne, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Camborne, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1812

COPC 1588-1837, 1889-1911
1538-1913
1538-1837, 1889-1936
FMP 1558-1860 1538-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1538-1837, 1845-1901
1538-1837, 1845-1901
1538-1837, 1845-1937
FS PRs 1538-1837, 1845-1901 1538-1837, 1845-1901 1538-1837, 1845-1901, 1911-1937
IGI 1558-1580 1538-1837
PALL
1800-1812

Records for Camborne cover 1538-1946, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has microfilmed parish registers from 1837-1946 and bishop’s transcripts from 1684-1772. Microfilm numbers can be found at FamilySearch.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch under Records. Parish registers refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 27.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.

Sally Cann has a Camborne website with history and transcriptions for the parish including Tuckingmill,Cornwall and census transcription links.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241263.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Camborne in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 474-479 Date accessed: 11 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,942 times.