Cambria County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Cambria County
Cambria County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Cambria County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 26, 1804 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Ebensburg | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Cambria County Courthouse 200 South Center Street Ebensburg, PA 15931 Cambria County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Cambria County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Somerset and Huntingdon Counties 26 March 1804.[1]
- County Seat: Ebensburg
- Neighboring Counties: Cambria County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Clearfield (north) • Blair (east) • Indiana (west) • Somerset (south) • Westmoreland (southwest) • Bedford (southeast) • Centre (northeast)
Boundary Changes [3]
- Prior to 1771: Future Cambria County was part of Cumberland County.
- 9 March 1771: Bedford County (including the area of future Cambria County) was created from Cumberland County.
- 20 September 1787: When Huntingdon County was carved from Bedford County, half of Cambria County was part of Huntingdon County and half remained in Bedford County.
- 17 April 1795: When Somerset County was formed from Bedford County, half of Cambria became part of Somerset County while the other half stayed in Huntingdon County.
Cambria County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | Findagrave.com | |
| WorldCat | Names in Stone | |
| Billion Graves | ||
| Epodunk | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census
For tips on accessing Cambria County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.The three religious groups that settled early in Cambria County were the Pennsylvania Germans and Scotch Irish Presbyterians in the south, Catholics who came from Maryland and settled in the northeast, and Welch Protestants who settled in the central part of the county. [4]
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Benedictine Fathers in Cambria County, Pennsylvania at Cambria County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
- History of St. Augustine's Parish at Cambria County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
- Contains church records of:
- Barnesboro: St. Thomas Episcopal Church
- Blandburg: Blandburg Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Ebensburg: First United Presbyterian Church
- Elton: Dunmyer Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Glasgow: Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Johnstown: Bethany Presbyterian Church
- Lilly: St. Luke's Lutheran Church
- Patton: Trinity Episcopal Church
- Portage: First Lutheran Church
- Contains church records of:
Catholic
- "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronolgy, map, county-by-county information.
Court Records
Cambria County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Cambria County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Cambria County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[5]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[6] For the Cambria County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Cambria County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphan's Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[7]
For Cambria County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Cambria County, Pennsylvania Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Cambria County began in 1804. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Ebensburg, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1869–1886 Deeds. FHL films 928950-928963
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Cambria County maps, including the 1890 atlas showing land owners, have been posted at the PAGenWeb site
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Cambria County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
- 1835-1991 – Cambria County Naturalization Records Index 1835-1991 on Johnstown Area Genealogical and Historical Society - free, orignals at the Cambria County Public Records Center
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1835 - Cambria County Naturalization Records 1835 at PAGenWeb - free.
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1835-1906 Naturalization Dockets FHL film 1316237 (first of 4 films) - Index included
- 1835-1906 Naturalization Dockets FHL film 1316237 (first of 4 films) - Index included
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Cambria County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Cambria County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
- Johnstown - Tribune Democrat
- Ebensburg - Mountaineer Herald
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Cambria County.
Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts
- Democrat and Sentinel (Ebensburg, Pennsylvania) (SLC, Utah, 1954) FHL film 1004077
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- USGenWeb Cambria County Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Cambria County.
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Teeter, Grace A., The Nathaniel Teeter Family and Other Related Families (Rialto, California:G.A. Teeter, 1997) FHL film 795924 item 10 and 2055506 item 3 Digitized version available through Family Search catalog entry.
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Cambria County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Cambria County Only:
- 1806-1980-Cambria County Probate Records
- 1808-1854, 1899-1907 - Cambria County Will Indexes, Vol. 1 and Vol. 5 at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1806-1980-Cambria County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1808-1919 Records of the Orphan's Court and Register of Wills FHL film 1294583 (first of 20 films)-Estate and Proceedings Indexes included, 1806-1980
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
County Courthouse
200 South Center Street
Ebensburg, PA 15931
Phone: (814) 472-5440
Clerk of Courts
Phone: (814) 472-1540
Orphans' Court
Phone: (814) 472-1438
Prothonotary
Phone: (814) 472-1638
Fax: (814) 472-5632
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Cambria County, Pennsylvania is the Johnstown Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Museums
- Nant-Y-Glo Tri Area Museum and Historical Society
929 Roberts Street
Nanty Glo, PA 15943
Phone: (814) 749-7352
E-mail: ngtamhs@itxbb.net
- Nant-Y-Glo Tri Area Museum and Historical Society
- Johnstown Flood Museum
304 Washington Street
Johnstown, PA 15901
- Johnstown Flood Museum
Website includes a list of flood victims.
Societies
- Cambria County Historical Society
615 North Center Street
P.O. Box 278
Ebensburg, PA 15931
Phone: (814) 472-6674
Hours: Tuesday-Friday 10-4; Saturday 9-1
- Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society
4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4080
Phone: (412) 687-6811
E-mail: info@wpgs.org
Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Sunday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Taxation
- 1820 - 1820 Summerhill Township Tax List at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1861 - 1861 Chest Township Tax List at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1867 - 1867 Gallitzin Township Tax List at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1894 - 1894 Reade Township Tax List at PAGenWeb - free.
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Births
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
Marriages
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Cambria County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriages, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
- 1885-1920 - Cambria County Marriages 1885-1920 at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1902-1912 - Cambria Freeman Newspaper Collection at Cambria County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Deaths
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1893-1905 - Cambria County Death Index 1893-1905 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cambria County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Cambria County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
Cambria County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Cambria County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ Pennsylvania line : a research guide to Pennsylvania genealogy and local history, 1990 ed. (Laughlintown, Pa.: Southwest Pennsylvania Genealogical Services, 1990), [FHL book 974.8 D27p 1990].
- ↑ Dave Huber, The people of Cambria County, (Chicora, Pennsylvania : Mechling Bookbindery, c2003), 8. FHL book 974.877 H2h
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/accesssed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 22:30.
- This page has been accessed 4,095 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More






