Cambridge St Michael, CambridgeshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge PLU
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cambridge St Michael, a parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Michael was built in 1337, and restored in 1849; possesses the old stalls of Trinity college chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cambridge St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
CAMBRIDGE ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
TGEN 1538-1837 1538-1837 1538-1837
FS 1559-1879 1698-1881 None
JOIN None
1539-1837 None
CFHS 1538-1950 1539-1950 1539-1948

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Information on these records is available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge St Michael on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. 'Parish Records - Cambridgeshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,251 times.