Camden County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Camden County

Guide to Camden County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Camden County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Camdenton
Courthouse
Address Camden County Courthouse
1 Court Circuit
Camdenton, MO 65020
Phone: 573.346.4440
Camden County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Records has marriage and divorce records from 1902;
Probate Judge has probate records from 1902; Clerk Circuit Court
has court records from 1902; Tompkins Abstract Office has land records[1]

History

Parent County

1841--Camden County was created 29 January 1841 from Benton and Pulaski Counties. County seat: Camdenton. [2] Camden County was originally named Kinderhook County. It was renamed in 1843.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Towns:

Branch
Camdenton
Climax Springs
Hurricane Deck
Kaiser
Lake Ozark
Linn Creek
Macks Creek
Montreal
Osage Beach
Richland
Stoutland
Sunrise Beach
Village of Four Seasons


Unincorporated Communities:

Branch
Hurricane Deck
Kaiser
Montreal


Townships:

Adair
Auglaize
Jackson
Jasper
Kiheka
Niangua
Osage
Osceola
Pawhuska
Russell
Warren

Neighboring Counties

Benton  • Dallas  • Hickory  • Laclede  • Miller  • Morgan  • Pulaski

Moniteau CountyMaries CountyCamden CountyOsage CountyCole CountyPhelps CountyTexas CountyPulaski CountyMiller CountyDade CountyDallas CountyPolk CountyGreene CountyCedar CountyHickory CountyWebster CountyMorgan CountyPettis CountySt. Clair CountyHenry CountyBenton CountyWright CountyLaclede CountyMOCamden.jpg


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

These sites contain lists of many of the cemeteries in Camden, as well as photographs and lists of burials.

http://camden.mogenweb.org/cemeteries.html

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~moccga/

Census

For tips on accessing Camden County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Camden County Missouri contained many churches over the years. Many small local churches were created and disbanded over the years. Known churches currently include.

Missionary Baptist Churches in Mack's Creek

The first known  congregation was originally organized in September 1873 and held meetings in private homes and in the Mack's Creek School House until August 1880. For some reason this group disbanded in 1880. Founding members included Ben Allison, Martha Allison, Alfred Catron, Sarah Catron, Lucinda Catron, George Catron, George Heffner,  and Elders Joe Miller, L.J. Tatum, and W.W. Palmer.

The same month this congregation disbanded, another Missionary Baptist Church was formed in Mack's Creek. This church continued until 1886. Known members were Elders J.M. Russell, J.M. Stincipher, and William West, as well as members J.E. Fowler and A.W. Kain.

The present  Mack's Creek Missionary Baptist Church was organized on January 24, 1910.

There were eight different Baptist meetings in and around Macks Creek.

Source: "The Builders, A History of Mack's Creek 1872-1972." Mack's Creek Lions Club

Other Camden County Churches:

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~jgood/churches_camden.html

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Camden County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mocamden.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 9th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 47th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Camden County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
  • 1854-1882 - Camden County Marriage Book 2 Index 1854-1882. Batch M514711 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Societies and Libraries 


Camden County Genealogical Association
Post Office Box 3316 
Camdenton, MO 65020


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Camden County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Camden County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Camden County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Camden County, Missouri
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Camden County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Camden County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 June 2014, at 15:03.
  • This page has been accessed 10,576 times.