Camden County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Camden County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Camden County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Camden County Courthouse
Hwy 343 P O Box 190
Camden, NC 27921
Clerk Superior Court has divorce Court records from 1896
Probate Records from 1912;
Camden County was formed in 1777 from the northeastern part of Pasquotank County. It was named for Charles Pratt, 1st Lord Camden, who had opposed the Stamp Act. The county is the site of the southern terminus of the Dismal Swamp Canal and was the location of the Battle of South Mills on April 19, 1862 during the American Civil War which brought a minor victory to the Confederacy.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Several records destroyed in fire with many others missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
The County consists of three Townships:
- South Mills
The following sites have listings of cemeteries in Camden County:
- Eastern Shore Chapel Cemetery
- James E. Nash Cemetery
- Archie Sawyer
- Sawyer Cemetery and Sawyer Cemetery 2
- Edwin Ferebee Cemetery
- Hughes Cemetery
- Wesley Methodist Church Cemetery
- Cutrell Family Cemetery
- Brown Family Cemetery
- McPherson-Ferebee Cemetery
- White Oak Hill- Trafton Cemetery
- Gardner Trafton Cemetery
- Gilbert Cemetery
- Hastings Picture Cemetery
- Hastings Cemetery
- Cornelius G. Lamb Family Cemetery
- Lemuel Sawyer Cemetery
- Tarkington Cemetery
- Williams Cemetery
For tips on accessing Camden County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Camden. Constituted 1757.
- Sawyer's Creek. Established by 1790.
- Shiloh, Camden, N.C. Established 1729. Formerly located in Pasquotank County.
- McBride Church. Originally Church of England (since 1733); obtained by Methodists in 1792.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Camden County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company M
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Camden County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1822-1920 - Will Books (1822-1920) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1848-1940 - Camden County Marriage Books A1-C1 Index 1848-1940 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Camden County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- NCGenWeb Camden County
- Camden County USGenWeb Archives
- Camden County Government Services
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:487, 492; 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ J.R.B. Hathaway, "The Earliest Baptist Congregation Organized in North Carolina," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):283. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- ↑ "McBride Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 00:51.
- This page has been accessed 11,701 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More