Cameron Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Cameron Parish

Guide to Cameron Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Cameron Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Cameron Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 15, 1870
County Seat Cameron
Courthouse
LACameroncourthouse.jpg
Address PO Box 1280
Cameron, LA 70631
Cameron Parish Clerk of Court Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Jo Branch
Parish Coordinator
Cameron Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Contents

Parish Courthouse

Cameron Parish Courthouse
119 Smith Road
Cameron, LA 70631-0549
Phone: 337.775.5316 

Parish Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court and
land records from 1870  and military discharge records
from 1918 [1]

LSU Special Collection: "The Courthouse still Stands after Hurricane Audrey"

"A Sportman's Paradise"

History

  • Named for Simon Cameron, first Secretary of War under Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States

Parent Parish

Boundary Changes

  • Northeast portion set off to create Jefferson Davis Parish 12 June 1912.

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Communities: Big Lake | Cameron | Constance Beach |  Creole | Gibbstown |  Grand Chenier | Grand Lake | Hackberry | Hacketts Corner | Holly Beach | Illinois Plant | Johnson Bayou | Johnson Bayou Landing | Lone Pine | Lowry | North Island | Oak Grove | Peveto Beach | Sweet Lake

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lacameron.png

African American

Census

Census Pop.
19003,952
19104,2888.5%
19203,952−7.8%
19306,05453.2%
19407,20319.0%
19506,244−13.3%
19606,90910.7%
19708,19418.6%
19809,33613.9%
19909,260−0.8%
20009,9917.9%
20106,839−31.5%
Cameron Parish Census Data[3]
















Cemeteries (in rural areas)

Cemeteries at Cameron Par. - LAGenWeb

Cemetery Resources and Information

Census

    • Federal: 1870 . 1880 . 1890 . 1900 . 1910 . 1930
  • 1920:
    • Grand Chenier
    • Creole
    • Cameron
    • Grand Lake
    • Johnson Bayou
    • Hackberry
    • Czechs and Sloavks

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

  • Baptist
  • Methodist
  • Roman Catholic

Court

Gazetteers of Places/Localities

  • United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Cameron Parish  (over 525 entries)
    (may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cameron Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Cameron Parish, La. - LAGenWeb

World War II Missing and Dead (Army and Army Air Force)

Korean War Fatal Casualties

Newspapers

"Cameron Parish Pilot"

LSU Special Collection

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cameron Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Cameron Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Thanks to the Cameron Parish Wiki Contributors

Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Anyone can be a contributor. Add content today!

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Aurora County, Louisiana, p.289
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 13,601 times.