Campbell County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Campbell County
Campbell County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Campbell County (established 1806) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Campbell County, Tennessee | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
| | |||||||
| Location in the state of Tennessee | |||||||
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded: | September 11, 1806 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Jacksboro | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| |||||||
Campbell County Tennessee Quick Dates
Campbell County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1908 | 1838 | 1908 | 1830 | 1820 | 1806 |
Campbell County Tennessee Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
Main Street
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone: 423.562.3496
County Clerk has marriage records from 1838.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]
570 Main St.
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone: 1-423-562-4985
Campbell County Clerk
Marriage and Probate Records
570 Main St. Suite 450
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone: 1-423-562-4985
Campbell County Register of Deeds
Land Records from 1804
P.O. Box 13
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone: 1-423-562-4985
Campbell County Clerk of Circuit Court
Court Records
P.O. Box 13
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone:1-423-562-4985
Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Sat.8 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Campbell County Tennessee History
The county is named after Arthur Campbell (1743-1811), a member of the Virginia House of Burgesses who negotiated Indian treaties.[3]
Parent County
1806--Campbell County was created 11 September 1806 from Anderson and Claiborne Counties.
County seat: Jacksboro [4]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[5] (female)
- Hear it spoken[6] (male)
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
- Lost censuses: 1810, 1820, 1890
- Lack of marriage records: 1806 to 1837
Campbell County Tennessee Places / Localities
Populated Places
For additional information on records from the populated places in the county see the Family History Library Catalog and search for the county place name.
| Alder Springs | Fincastle | La Follette | Russell Fork |
| Anthras | Flat Hollow | Lindsay Mill | Silica |
| Beech Fork | Fordtown | Little White Oak | Stanfill |
| Block | Gennett Camp | Long Hollow | Stinking Creek |
| Brookside | Grantsboro | Morley | Tackett Creek |
| Buckeye | Habersham | Newcomb | Terry Creek |
| Caryville | Hickey | Nicks Creek | Titus |
| Chaska | High Point | Oak Grove | Turley |
| Clinchmore | Highcliff | Oswego | Vasper |
| Cotula | Highland Park | Peabody | Victory |
| Cove Creek | Holton | Peewee | Walnut Grove |
| Cumberland View | Hunter | Pine Crest | Welch Camp |
| De Lap | Liford | Pioneer | Westbourne |
| Demory | Ivydell | Red Ash | White Oak |
| Disney | Jacksboro | Remy | Wooldridge |
| Duff | Jellico | Ridgewood | Wynn |
| Elk Valley | Kilsyth | Royal Blue | |
Neighboring Counties
Campbell County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Campbell County biography, court, land, marriage, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Campbell County at TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | TNGenWeb Cemetery Database | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | ||
| Campbell Co., TNGenWeb Project |
Additional Campbell County cemetery resources:
- Free Cemetery lookups for Valley View, Baird, Warren Memorial Gardens, Stanfill, Elk Fork Church, Terry Creek, Lawson, and Red Cut Cemetery. (all in Elk Valley, TN) Also, lookups in the Walden cemetery located on Lick Creek on Walden Lane in La Follette, Tennessee
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 2,668 | — |
| 1820 | 4,244 | 59.1% |
| 1830 | 5,110 | 20.4% |
| 1840 | 6,149 | 20.3% |
| 1850 | 6,068 | −1.3% |
| 1860 | 6,712 | 10.6% |
| 1870 | 7,445 | 10.9% |
| 1880 | 10,005 | 34.4% |
| 1890 | 13,486 | 34.8% |
| 1900 | 17,317 | 28.4% |
| 1910 | 27,387 | 58.2% |
| 1920 | 28,265 | 3.2% |
| 1930 | 26,827 | −5.1% |
| 1940 | 31,131 | 16.0% |
| 1950 | 34,369 | 10.4% |
| 1960 | 27,936 | −18.7% |
| 1970 | 26,045 | −6.8% |
| 1980 | 34,923 | 34.1% |
| 1990 | 35,079 | 0.4% |
| 2000 | 39,854 | 13.6% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Campbell County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
1820 - Lost[7]
1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
These records have also been abstracted:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820.
- 1820 Census of Manufactures: Campbell County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 7, No. 4 ():168. For availability, see Periodicals.
1830
- Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.
- Gibson, Laura. "1830 Campbell County Tennessee Census," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
- S-K Publications. "Campbell County, TN 1830 Census Index," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
1840
- S-K Publications. "Campbell County, TN 1840 Census Index," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Campbell County on page 152.]
1850
- Lemasters, Paul W. 1850 Census, Campbell County, Tennessee. Huntsville, Tenn.: Scott County Historical Society (Tennessee), 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 X2L 1850.
- S-K Publications. "Campbell County, TN 1850 Census Index," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
1860
- Freeman, Mitzi P. "1860 Campbell County Tennessee Census," [4 parts] available online through USGenWeb Archives. [Source: NARA Microfilm M653 - R1240.]
1870
- Anderson, Sandra and Rick Chambers. "1870 Campbell County Census," [14 Districts] available online through USGenWeb Archives. [Source: NARA Microfilm M593 - R1516.]
1880
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census - Tennessee: Transcription for Campbell County. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 198-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 X2s 1880.
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Anderson, Sandra. "1890 Campbell County Veteran's Census," available online through USGenWeb Archives.
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. [Campbell County is included in Vol. 6.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1910
- Collins, Betty VanOver. 1910 Campbell Co., Tn. Federal Census. 2 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: B.V. Collins, 2004?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 X2c 1910 v. 1 ff.
1920
- Collins, Betty VanOver. 1920 Campbell Co., Tn. Federal Census. 2 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: B.V. Collins, 2004?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 X2c 1920 v. 1 ff.
1930
- Collins, Betty VanOver. Campbell Co., Tn. Federal Census, 1930. Knoxville, Tenn.: B.J.V. Collins, 2004?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 X2c 1930.
Church
Court
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- Peters, Genevieve E. Know Your Relatives. Arlington, VA: G.E. Peters], 1953. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sh23p; FHL US/CAN Film 875369; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($). [Discusses the Albright, Efland, Gibbs, Graves, Loy, Miller, Sharp, Snodderly, and Tillman.]
- Wilson, Marshall A. Families of Norris Reservoir Area. Clinton, Tennessee: Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8935 D2w.
- Norris Dam on the Clinch River in Eastern Tennessee was a project of the Tennessee Valley Authority in the 1930s. Nearly 3,000 families, totalling almost 14,000 persons, were required to vacate land that was to be inundated by the resulting reservoir. In connection with the removal of families and gravesites, Mr. Wilson, a TVA official, collected historical and genealogical information about Norris Valley residents; he presents information about 75 of those families, along with a brief chronology of the area. Each family record begins with the name of a father and the name of that man's father, con- tinuing through other ancestors of the direct male line back to the earliest one known. Families represented by ten or more male heads of household include Agee, Carden, Hatmaker, Irwin, Longmire, Miller, Rice, and Sharp.
- Thomas, Marlene C. Some extractions from the Scott County newspapers regarding Nicks Creek, Campbell County, TN Available at the FamilySearch Books Online
Bibliography
- [Ausmus] Ausmus, Harry Lee. Ausmus Family History, 1711-1962. Johnson City, TN: H.L. Ausmus, 1963. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Au72a; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Burge] Byrge, Neal The Descendants of William "Billy" Burge (Byrge). Other surnames frequently found in the book are:Adkins, Anderson, Brown, Bunch, Burchfield, Byrge, Carroll, Cross, Crowley, Daugherty, Davis, Duncan, Farmer, Griffith, Hammonds, Hatfield, Hopson, Jeffers, Jones, Kennedy, Lay, Lively, Lowe, Marlow, McGhee, McKamey, Miller, Patterson, Phillips, Reed, Roe, Rowe, Seiber, Smith, Tackett, Ward, West, Wilson, Wishoun, and Wright. Free Lookups Available!
- [Moad] Moad, Ethel R. The History of the Moads and the Stanleys. 1935. 1994 reprint: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 8070.
- [Murray] Murray, J.L. Ancestry of James S. Murray of Campbell County, Tennessee and the Wasson Family of Rhea County, Tennessee. MSS., microfilmed in 1983. FHL US/CAN Film 1033940 Item 6.
- [Stanley] Moad, Ethel R. The History of the Moads and the Stanleys. 1935. 1994 reprint: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 8070.
Land
The original Campbell County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. The TSLA microfilmed Deed Books D to 30 (1820-1894), Land Entry Books A to F (1806-1834, 1837, 1868), Entry Taker Book A (1824-1902), and Trust Deed Books A to D (1852-1877, 1886-1894). Copies of their microfilms are also available at the Family History Library: FHL US/CAN Films 979222-979238.
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Campbell County land records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.]The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA ; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
- Marshall, L. McGhee and Jackson, Melba Caryville through the years and Caryville and more (books about Caryville, Tennessee and local areas)Action Print., 1988. Free lookups available.
- McDonald, Dr. Miller Campbell County, Tennessee USA: A History of Places, Faces, Happenings, Traditions, and Things, Vols 1, 2, & 3. County Services Syndicate. Free lookups available. (These books are not indexed)
Maps
- [1832] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1832 map of the county.]
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Campbell County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
- 1835 Pension Roll
- 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions
- Bogan, Dallas County's Revolutionary War Vets Listed Includes a list of Campbell county residents who served as Revolutionary War soldiers and received pensions for their service.
- Campbell County Military - American Revolution 1775-1883 Includes some abstracts of pension applications.
The 1840 Census of Pensioners has been abstracted multiple times:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Campbell County on page 152.]
- Revolutionary and Military Pensioners, 1840, Ansearchin' News, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Winter 1987). Available online, for access see Periodicals.
Additional resources include:
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War (TNGenWeb).
- Pensions, Revolutionary War and War of 1812, Campbell Countian, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Summer 1993).
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan. 1960):13-16. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Bledsoe County pensioners (p. 15).]
- Collier, Leslie (transcribed by) Campbell County in the War of 1812 at TNGenWeb
- Campbell County Military - War of 1812 Includes Veterans from Campbell County as well as historical information. (TNGenWeb).
- Pensions, Revolutionary War and War of 1812, Campbell Countian, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Summer 1993).
Civil War
Civil War service men from Campbell County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Campbell County.
Union Soldiers
- 6th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company E.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company L.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Campbell County:
- TNGenWeb, Campbell County, Military, Civil War, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). A variety of resources, including Civil War Veteran Index, transcrition of the 1890 Census, Pension Applications, Union Military Rosters, etc.
- USGenWeb Archives, Campbell County Tennessee Archives, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Civil War Pensions.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Campbell County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Campbell County, page 321.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Campbell County click on the following cities or towns:
The following Campbell County newspaper abstracts have been published:
- Thomas, Marlene C. Some Extractions from the Scott County Newspapers Regarding Nicks Creek, Campbell County, Tennessee. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
Occupations
- Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Campbell County.]
- Tennesse Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Campbell County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Campbell Countian
- Available through the Campbell County Historical Society
Indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI). - East Tennessee Roots
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Campbell County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 D25e.
- The Pellissippian
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Campbell County, Tennessee records were published in the The Pellissippian (25 vols., 1980-2004), the quarterly of the Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society. The society has posted tables of contents for all 25 volumes on their website. They also have back issues available for purchase. The Family History Library has acquired the first 20 volumes FHL Book 976.8 D25p.
Prisons
Learn if your Campbell County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
Many of the original Campbell County Will Books were destroyed. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed extant probate records covering the years 1806 to 1911. Their microfilms include administrator's bonds, guardians' settlements, inventories, a will book, estate book, and land records. FHL copies: FHL Films 979201, 979213-979214, 979218-979221.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Bonds, Inventories, Wills, 1807-1841 ("Vol. 6")
- Inventories, Wills, 1860-1880 ("Vol. C")
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Campbell County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
The following Campbell County probate records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1806-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.] Free Lookups Available!
Taxation
The following Campbell County tax records have been abstracted:[8]
- [1814] "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Campbell County.]
- [1818] Taxpayers, 1818, East Tennessee Historical Society Publications. Knoxville TN: 1964. Vol. - Iss. 36.
- [1818] Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1818 tax list.] A digital version of this source is available online for Campbell County through TNGenWeb.
- [1818, 1823] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1818 and 1823 tax lists.]
- [1818, 1823] Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing Company, 1964. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4c. [Includes 1818 and 1823 tax lists.]
- [1818] Tax Return Lists, 1818, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter. Huntsville TN: Fall 1985. Vol. 3 Iss. 1.
- [1820] Tax List, 1820, Campbell Countian. LaFollette TN: Winter 1992. Vol. 3 Iss. 2.
- [1836] Douthat, James L. 1836 Campbell County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.872 P2d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1838] Tax List, 1838, Campbell Countian. LaFollette TN: Summer 1991. Vol. 2 Iss. 1; Winter 1992. Vol. 2 Iss. 2; Spring 1992. Vol. 2 Iss. 3.
- [1838] Tax List Excerpt, 1838, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter. Huntsville TN: Summer 1993. Vol. 10 Iss. 4.
- [1838] Anderson, Sandra. "1838 Campbell County Tax Records," available online through TNGenWeb. Also available online through USGenWeb Archives. [Source: Early Tennessee Tax Records, Campbell County 1838-1839 Microfilm.]
- [1838-1839] Lemasters, Paul W. Campbell County, TN Tax Lists, 1838-9. Purchase at Campbell County Historical Society website.
- [1839] Chambers, Rick and Sandra Anderson. "1839 Tax Records," available online through TNGenWeb.
- [1849] Tax List, 1849, Campbell Countian. LaFollette TN: Winter 1995. Vol. 5 Iss. 1; Apr 1995. Vol. 6 Iss. 1; Jul 1995. Vol. 6 Iss. 2; Oct 1995. Vol. 6 Iss. 3; Jan 1996. Vol. 6 Iss. 4; Apr 1996. Vol. 7 Iss. 1; Jul 1996. Vol. 7 Iss. 2; Oct 1996. Vol. 7 Iss. 3; Jan 1997. Vol. 7 Iss. 4; Apr 1997. Vol. 8 Iss. 1; Jul 1997. Vol. 8 Iss. 2; Oct 1997. Vol. 8 Iss. 3; Jan 1998. Vol. 8 Iss. 4.
- [1850] Tax List, 1850, Campbell Countian. LaFollette TN: Jan 2001. Vol. 11 Iss. 4; Apr 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 1; Jul 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 2; Oct 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 3; Jan 2002. Vol. 12 Iss. 4; Apr 2002. Vol. 13 Iss. 1; Jul 2002. Vol. 13 Iss. 2; Oct 2002. Vol. 13 Iss. 3; Jan 2003. Vol. 13 Iss. 4; Apr 2003. Vol. 14 Iss. 1; Jul 2003. Vol. 14 Iss. 2.
- [1860] Tax List, 1860, Campbell Countian. LaFollette TN: Jan 2006. Vol. 16 Iss. 4; Apr 2006. Vol. 17 Iss. 1; Jul 2006. Vol. 17 Iss. 2; Oct 2006. Vol. 17 Iss. 3; Jan 2007. Vol. 17 Iss. 4; Apr 2007. Vol. 18 Iss. 1.
- [1890] Anderson, Sandra. "1890 Tax Records," available online through TNGenWeb. Also available online through USGenWeb Archives. [Source: Campbell Trustee Tax Duplicates, Volume Jan 1889 - Dec 1898, Roll #48.]
- [1895] Chambers, Rick. "Campbell County, TN, 1895 Tax Records," available online through TNGenWeb. Also available online (4 parts) through USGenWeb Archives. [Source: Campbell Trustee Tax Duplicates, Volume Jan 1889 - Dec 1898, Roll #48.]
Vital Records
Marriage
Marriages were not officially recorded in Campbell County until 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice.[9] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL Book 976.8 V2L.
The following Campbell County Courthouse marriage records have been indexed:
- 1838-1894 - Campbell County Marriage Index 1838-1894 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[10]
- 1838-1881 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.] Free Lookups Available!
- 1838-1889 - Campbell County, Tennessee Marriges 1838 - 1889 Free Lookups Available!
Death
The death certificates for Campbell County for the years 1908-1912 have been transcribed and are online with the Campbell County TNGenWeb site.
For deaths of Methodists in Campbell County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
- Campbell County, Tennessee Vital Statistics 1926-1935 and Campbell County, Tennessee Vital Statistics 1936-1946 Free lookups available
Campbell County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Campbell County Historical Society
235 East Central Ave.
LaFollette, TN 37766
Phone: 1-423-566-3581
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 1-865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Jacksboro Public Library
585 Main St. Suite 201
Jacksboro, TN 37757
Phone: 1-423-562-3675
LaFollette Public Library
201 South Tennessee Ave.
LaFollette, TN 37766
Phone: 1-423-562-5154
Fax: 1-423-562-0013
Hours: Mon.-Fri.8 a.m.-5 p.m.
The Genealogy and Local History Collection is housed at the
Campbell County Historical Museum and Library
160 East Central Ave., LaFollette, TN 37766
Phone: 1-423-566-3581
E-mail: darcon1997@aol.com
Hours: 9 a.m.-2 p.m.
Family History Centers
215 Wildwood Cir
La Follette, Tennessee, United States
Hours: W 6pm-9pm; and by appointment
This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Campbell County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Campbell County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Campbell County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Campbell County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Campbell County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Campbell County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (MyTennesseeGenealogy)
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Mailing List: TNCAMPBE-L (Campbell County, Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List) (RootsWeb)
- Mailing List: UPPEREASTTN-L (Upper East Tennessee List) (RootsWeb)
Campbell County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Tennessee page 638, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 638. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964) [FHL 976.8 R4c].
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 00:53.
- This page has been accessed 8,127 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


