Canadian Indexes and Digital Images Available Online By Census Year (National Institute)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Canadian Census Part 1 and Part 2  by Doris Bourrie, CG. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).

Contents

Indexes and Digital Images Available Online By Census Year

Note: Ancestry.ca, a for fee site, has some indexes and/or digital images for Canadian census records. If you do not subscribe, check with your local library as they may have the Ancestry Library Edition available to their patrons

1851

Canada East, Canada West, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia

Digital Images
Ancestry.ca
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada

Index and Digital Images(for New Brunswick only)

Automated Genealogy

1861

Digital Images
Ancestry.ca

1871

Digital Images
Ancestry.ca
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Index
FamilySearch

Ontario has been indexed by the Ontario Genealogical Society and is available on the Library and Archives Canada website.

1881

Index
FamilySearch
Index and Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Digital Images
Ancestry.ca

1891

Index and Digital Images
Ancestry.ca
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Index
FamilySearch

1901

Index
Automated Genealogy with digital images linked to LAC website
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Digital Images
Ancestry.ca

1906

Northwest Provinces (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta)

Index
Alberta Family Histories Society
Index
Automated Genealogy with digital images linked to LAC website
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Digital Images
Ancestry.ca

1911

Digital Images
Ancestry.ca
Index
Automated Genealogy with digital images linked to LAC website
Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada

1916

Western Provinces (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta)

Digital Images
Library and Archives Canada
Digital Images
Ancestry.ca

Websites

Library and Archives Canada

Automated Genealogy 

FamilySearch 

Ancestry.ca

____________________________________________________________

Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Canadian Census Part 1 and Part 2 offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 April 2013, at 19:58.
  • This page has been accessed 271 times.