Canadian Vital Records (KP)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

In the late 1800s and early 1900s, the provinces and territories of Canada began keeping civil registration of births, marriages and deaths, often called vital statistics. Before that time, births, marriages and deaths were recorded in parish registers.

Adapted from an article written by Kimberly Powell.

The Province of Alberta was formed in 1905, but civil registration of births, marriages and deaths in Alberta dates back to 1870 when Alberta was part of the Northwest Territories. A few scattered birth records date back as far as 1850.

Alberta birth records date from about 1850. When requesting the record for genealogical purposes, be sure to request a certified photocopy of a registration of birth (long form). This record will contain the name, date and place of birth, sex, name of parents and registration number and date, and may contain the age and/or birth date and birth place of parents.

Birth records in Alberta are not public until after 100 years have passed from the date of birth. To apply for a genealogical search of birth records less than 100 years old, you must be able to show that the individual is deceased, and that you are an eligible next-of-kin (parent, sibling, children or spouse).

Original birth records from approximately 1850 through the 1980s for some communities are in the custody of the Provincial Archives of Alberta.  Transcripts of these birth certificates can be obtained for $5.00, plus GST and postage fees. This is a cheaper option than obtaining the records through Alberta Vital Statistics, but photocopies of the orginal records are not available - only the transcripts.

Some online Alberta births: http://genealogy.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ/Ya&sdn=genealogy&cdn=parenting&tm=30&gps=115_9_1020_603&f=00&tt=14&bt=0&bts=0&zu=http%3A//www.afhs.ab.ca/registry/regab_birth.html

Alberta death records date from about 1890. When requesting the record for genealogical purposes, be sure to request a certified photocopy of a registration of death (long form). This record will generally contain the name, date and place of death, sex, age, marital status and registration number and date, and may contain the name of spouse, names and birth places of parents, usual residence, occupation and date and place of birth.

Death records in Alberta are not public until after 50 years have passed from the date of death. To apply for a genealogical search of death records less than 50 years old, you must be able to show that you are an eligible next of kin (parent, sibling, children or spouse).

Some online death records are at: http://www.afhs.ab.ca/registry/regab_death.html

Alberta marriage records date from about 1890. When requesting the record for genealogical purposes, be sure to request a certified photocopy of a registration of marriage (long form). This record will contain the names of bride and groom, date and place of marriage, birthplaces of bride and groom and registration number and date, and may contain the age and/or birth date of bride and groom and the names and birth places of parents.

Marriage records in Alberta are not public until after 76 years have passed from the date of marriage. To apply for a genealogical search of marriage records less than 75 years old, you must be able to show that the bride and groom are deceased, and that you are an eligible next of kin (parent, sibling, children or spouse).

Some online Alberta marriages: http://www.afhs.ab.ca/registry/regab_marr.html

Alberta divorce records date from 1867. For information on divorce proceedings in Alberta from 1867-1919 contact the Senate of Canada at the following address:

Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Room 304
3rd Floor
222 Queen Street
OTTAWA, ON K1A 0A4
Phone: (613) 992-2416

After 1919 divorce proceedings were handled by the provincial courts. Write to the provincial courthouse for location and availability or enquire at the county courthouse concerning indexes and searches.
Web site: http://genealogy.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ&sdn=genealogy&zu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.albertacourts.ab.ca%2F

The minimum fee for a birth, marriage or death certificate requested through a registry agent by an Alberta resident is $20 Canadian. Postage and handling, plus an agency fee is added on top, however, meaning that the actual fee charged will vary by registry agent. The cost for each certificate requested by people living outside of Alberta through Registry Connect is $40 Canadian, which includes GST and postage (except for rush delivery).

How to Request an Alberta Vital Record if you are living in Alberta.  Write to:

Government Services, Alberta Registries
Vital Statistics
Box 2023
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 4W7
Phone: (780) 427-7013

Or you can use Registry Connect if you are not living in Alberta.

http://genealogy.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ&sdn=genealogy&zu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.altaregistryagents.org%2Freg3317%2Fweb_page_doc.pdf

Alberta Provincial Archives

8555 Roper Road

Edmonton, AB

T6E 5W1

Tel.: (780) 427-1750

Fax: (780) 427-4646

paa@gov.ab.ca



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2014, at 15:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,229 times.