Cannock, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Cannock, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Cannock, Staffordshire
St Luke Cannock Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1744
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CANNOCK (St. Luke), a parish, in the union of Penkridge, E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Walsall.  There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Cannock St Luke Ancient Parish

Cannock St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
CANNOCK ST LUKE PARISH (1661) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1660-1900
1659-1912
1660-1926
FS 1659-1867
1659-1838


NBI



1661-1838

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1659-1970 Mar 1659-1971 Bur 1659-1929
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1659-1827 Mar 1659-1837 Bur 1659-1867 Bap/Bur 1858-1865


Hednesford St Peter Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HEDNESFORD ST PETER CHAPELRY (1845)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1865-1901
1884-1904


FREG

1870-1874, 1894-1912, 1951-1953
1868-1901
FS 1865-1901





Hednesford St Saviour Also known as St Saviours Green Heath. Former Mission Church to St Peters Hednesford, registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HEDNESFORD ST SAVIOUR  (1927)  Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1928-1938






Cannock St Chad (Chadsmoor) was a district/mission church built in 1892 within this parish 

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1937-1994 Mar 1960-1992 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office

Cannock St Aidan (West Chadsmoor)

Cannock St Barnabas was built as a mission church in 1960; any records are with the incumbent of St Luke from  1962 and at Cannock St Luke church.

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in
full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches

Carmel Primitive Methodist Chapel (Bridgetown) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CARMEL PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (BRIDGETOWN) (1912) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1912-1941




Bradbury Lane Methodist Chapel (Hednesford) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  BRADBURY LANE METHODIST CHAPEL (HEDNESFORD) (1913) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1913-1975






High Town Methodist Chapel (Hednesford)
registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HIGH TOWN METHODIST CHAPEL (HEDNESFORD) (1873) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1956-1971




Mill St Primitive Methodist Chapel (Bridgetown) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

MILL ST PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (BRIDGETOWN) (1913) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1913-1930




Park St Methodist New Connexion Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PARK ST METHODIST NEW CONNEXION CHAPEL (1863) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1863-1964
1958-1968




Trinity United Methodist Chapel (Hednesford) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TRINITY UNITED METHODIST CHAPEL (HEDNESFORD) (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1872-1909





Old Hednesford Mission registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  OLD HEDNESFORD MISSION (1942) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1942-1952




Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-511. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,407 times.