Canterbury Christchurch Cathedral, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Canterbury Cathedral, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Canterbury Christchurch Cathedral, Kent
Canterbury Cathedral - Portal Nave Cross-spire.jpg
Canterbury Cathedral - Portal Nave Cross-spire
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Canterbury City and Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Not Applicable PLU
Registration District Canterbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Canterbury Christ Church Cathedral was founded around 604 AD and rebuilt following fire in 1067 to form the present building Canterbury Cathedral Wikipedia

A history of the church is available at Kent Family History Society

The Cathedral church of Christ Church has been designated as a grade I listed building and many other buildings within the precincts have also been listed British listed building

The Canterbury Cathedral Archives contain the deposited records of the Archdeaconries of the Diocese of Canterbury and are located within the Cathedral precinct. The Archive is staffed by archivists from Kent County Council and some records for the diocese will in future be available at the developing Kent Archive Family History Centre and the existing Centre for Kentish Studies has copies of deposited records for Diocese of Canterbury parishes in East Kent.

The church is referred to in Edward Hasted, History of the cathedral', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 11 (1800), pp. 306-383. British History Online and Hasted has further description of the Cathedral Precints.


Resources

Civil Registration

See Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Canterbury Christchurch Cathedral, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
Canterbury Christchurch Cathedral, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1554-1911 1554-1911 1583-1901; 1756-1919 (Banns) 1583-1901; 1756-1919 (Banns) 1571-1812 1571-1812
FREG 1564-1878
1583-1657

IGI 1564-1861 1583-1878
NBI

1571-1874
PALL
1790-1837

Family History Library (FHL)film numbers (especially see a "Comprehensive List of Parishes within Canterbury, Kent" for a list of all available church registers on microfilm at FamilySearch's FHL.
Parish registers for Christ Church, Canterbury, 1564-1961 original records in possession of Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Canterbury, Kent, England.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: U3/146/1/1-11

Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church, Canterbury, 1813-1862 original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Canterbury, Kent.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: DCb/BT2/46

For an overview of the City Canterbury Kent Online Parish Clerks

FamilySearch microfilm holdings are not readily pin pointed due to the hierarchy of the currently available catalogue online , the search terms England, Kent, Canterbury produce 206 microfilm holdings.

Deposited records are described at Kent Family History Society

Census records


Family Search microfilm for Census Returns for the city are at Census returns for Canterbury, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 November 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,254 times.