Canterbury East Bridge Hospital, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Canterbury East Bridge Hospital, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canterbury East Bridge Hospital, Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Canterbury City and Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean PLU
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Canterbury East Bridge Hospital is an extra parochial place in the city neighbouring Canterbury St Peter, Kent and Canterbury All Saints, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

See Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Canterbury East Bridge Hospital is an extra parochial place in the city  For an overview of the City Canterbury Kent Online Parish Clerks
FamilySearch microfilm holdings are not readily pin pointed due to the hierarchy of the currently available catalogue online , the search terms England, Kent, Canterbury produce 206 microfilm holdings.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306878.[1]

Poor Law Unions

Canterbury Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,691 times.