Canterbury St Mary Bredman, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Canterbury St Mary Bredman, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canterbury St Mary Bredman, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Canterbury City and Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Canterbury PLU
Registration District Canterbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

The site of the former church is described at Kent Family History Society and is now occupied by Nason's department store following demolition in 1900.

The church of St Mary Bredman was named to distinguish it from the other churches with same dedication in the city and derived from the presence of the old bread market next to it. It was an Ancient Parish in the City.

The church is referred to in Edward Hasted, 'Canterbury: The churches within the city and suburbs', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 11 (1800), pp. 209-288. at British History Online as one of those parishes which from 6 March 1681 was united with Canterbury St Andrew, Kent to form a united benefice.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Canterbury Registration district

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Canterbury St Mary Bredman, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Canterbury St Mary Bredman, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1887 1558-1887 1558-1887 1558-1887 1558-1855 1558-1855

For an overview of the City Canterbury Kent Online Parish Clerks
FamilySearch microfilm holdings are not readily pin pointed due to the hierarchy of the currently available catalogue online , the search terms England, Kent, Canterbury produce 206 microfilm holdings.

Archdeacon's transcripts, 1563-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1603-1880 St Mary Bredman original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Canterbury, Kent.Some early pages damaged.Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: DCa/BT/42; DCb/BT1/50; DCb/BT2/56

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306878.
[1]

Poor Law Unions

Canterbury Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,777 times.