Canwell, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Canwell, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canwell, Staffordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CANWELL, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Tamworth, S. division of the hundred of Offlowand of the county of Stafford, 5¼ miles (S. W. by W.)from Tamworth. [1]

Canwell St Mary, St Giles and All Saints was formed as a parish in 1927.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district may have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district or Cannock Registration Offices and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records


Canwell was an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. England Jurisdictions 1851 may be helpful.

Canwell St Mary, St Giles and All Saints was formed from the previously extra parochial area in 1927

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office  Mar 1927-1994 Other records remain with the incumbent in the parish.
Lichfield Record Office no holdings of Bishop's Transcripts due to extra parochial status

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-511. Date accessed: 18 October 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2014, at 21:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,730 times.