Capesthorne, Holy Trinity, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Capesthorne

Guide to Capesthorne, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Holy Trinity Chapel, Capesthorne is a private chapel adjacent to Capesthorne Hall, near the village of Siddington, Cheshire, built in 1722 by John Ward.

It was a chapelry within Siddington parish until 1846 when the ecclesiatical parish of Capesthorne with Siddington was created.

Capesthorne is one of the pre-Norman townships of Prestbury.

CAPESTHORNE, a township-chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; 2½ miles ESE of Chelford railway station, and 5 W by S of Macclesfield. Post Town, Chelford, under Congleton.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is "" 241240"".

Church records

Capesthorne Holy Trinity registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Capesthorne Holy Trinity Parish (1718) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1722-1812


BOYD
1722-1747

FS PR's 1718-1911
  NONE
1722-1785
  NONE
1724-1812
  NONE
FS BT'S 1722-1879   NONE
1722-1754
  NONE
1722-1847
  NONE
FMP (£)



1725-1989
1725-1989
JOIN
1723-1747

NBI

1725-1989
TGEN
1722-1747

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Capesthorne, 1722-1989 Cheshire Record Office call numbers.: P241/5381/1-3. Capesthorne is a chapelry in the parish of Prestbury.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1722-1867.  Marriages, 1722-1747, 1965-1968. Baptisms, 1868-1995. Burials,  1884-1916, 1975-1989. BRITISH 2104767 Items 2 - 4

Bishop's transcripts. It is advisable to examine the mother parish of Siddington also. Chapelry in Prestbury parish. Includes Siddington. See also: Church of England. Chapelry of Siddington (Cheshire). Bishop's transcripts, 1722-1863. Cheshire Record Office Call Number: EDB 44

Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1722-1727, 1729-1741, 1750-1751. Baptisms, burials, 1742, 1744-1748, 1752-1753, 1755-1790, 1792-1793, 1795-1814, 1817. Baptisms, 1749, 1754, 1815-1816, 1818-1819. BRITISH 1647366 Item 8
Burials, 1829-1831, 1837, 1846-1847, 1861, 1876-1877. Baptisms, 1819-1863, 1876-1879. BRITISH Film 1647367 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837–1937)
  • Cheshire East

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed: 8 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 87–89

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2014, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,563 times.