Carbon County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Carbon County
Guide to Carbon County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Carbon County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 4, 1895 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Red Lodge |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Carbon County Courthouse PO Box 948 Red Lodge, MT 59068 Phone: 406.446.1225 Carbon County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 4 March 1895 from Park, Yellowstone, and Custer counties.
- County seat: Red Lodge [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Big Horn | Big Horn County, Wyoming | Park | Park County, Wyoming | Stillwater | Yellowstone
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Carbon County, Montana census records online, see: Montana Census.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Belfry
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Billings newspapers that may include residents of Carbon County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has birth records from 1878, death records from 1903, marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1895.[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- For marriages from 1895-1896 see Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Bearcreek | Edgar | Luther | Roscoe |
| Belfry | Fox | Red Lodge | Silesia |
| Boyd | Fromberg | Roberts | Warren |
| Bridger | Joliet | Rockvale | Washoe |
References
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 16:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,533 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
