Carbon County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wyoming
Carbon County
Guide to Carbon County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Carbon County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 16, 1868 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Rawlins |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Carbon County Courthouse PO Box 6 Rawlins, WY 82301 Phone: 307.328.2668 Carbon County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 16 December 1868 as an original county
- County Seat: Rawlins [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Albany | Converse | Fremont | Jackson County, Colorado | Moffat County, Colorado | Natrona | Routt County, Colorado | Sweetwater
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
For a list of people buried in the following cemeteries see FHL 978.786 V3m:
Baggs, Baker, Anderson, Encampment, Grand Encampment, Mountain View-Riverside, Wyoming State Penitentiary, Rawlins City, Saratoga, Cadwell, Indian Creek, Baggott, Overland Crossing, Higby, Battle, Graves in County, Kennaday, Reader, Elk Mountain, Hanna, Fort Steele, Medicine Bow-Trails End Cemetery, Carbon, Dixon, Mexican Flats, Birdgulch, McCarger, Anderson Ranch, Saulsbury Ranch (These were recorded in the summer of 1998. At the beginning of each section is directions to find the cemetery and a map of the cemetery.)
Census
For tips on accessing Carbon County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church Records
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Rawlins Wyoming Branch. Record of Members 1924-1936.
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Carbon County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Sweetwater River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[2]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[3]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[4]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage records from 1876 and land records from 1880.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[5]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index over 1,432 marriages 21 Nov 1870 to 24 Nov 1909
Death
Websites
- The Carbon County WY GenWeb Project, a member of The WYGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- County Clerk
- Lookups (GenWeb)
- Wikipedia
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Baggs | Dillon (hist.) | Ferris (hist.) | Marvin Place (hist.) | Riverside | Sinclair |
| Battle (hist.) | Dixon | Fort Steele | McFadden | Rudefeha (hist.) | Walcott |
| Benton | Edson | Grand Encampment(hist.) | Medicine Bow | Ryan Park | Widdowfield (hist.) |
| Carbon | Elk Mountain | Hanna | Morrisey (hist.) | Sampo (hist.) | |
| Copperton (hist.) | Elmo | Ivans Grove (hist.) | Muddy Gap | Saratoga | |
| Coyote Springs | Elwood (hist.) | Lamont | Rambler (hist.) | Savery | |
| Dexterville (hist.) | Encampment | Leo | Rawlins | Shirley (hist.) |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map III" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap3.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Carbon County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 19:31.
- This page has been accessed 2,019 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

