Carburton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Carburton, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Carburton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Carburton, Nottinghamshire
Carburton St Giles Nottinghamshire.JPG
Carburton St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1617
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

CARBURTON,a chapelry, in the parish of Edwinstowe, union of Worksop, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¼ miles (S. S. E.) from Worksop.[1]

Additional information:

Carburton was formed originally as a chapelry within Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have  researched the history of this church and parish Carburton St Giles

The parish Church of St Giles dates in part from the 12th century and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Carburton Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Carburton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Carburton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Carburton

Carburton St Giles.  An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dated from 1748. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.78, pages 18-20, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Carburton in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 21 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 19:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,584 times.