Carham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Carham, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carham, Northumberland
Carham St+Cuthbert Northumberland.jpg
Carham St+Cuthbert Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Glendale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Glendale, W. division of Glendale ward, N. division of Northumberland, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Coldstream; The parish is pleasantly situated at the north-western extremity of the county.[1]

Additional information: St Cuthbert Carham is an ancient parish on the Scottish border and includes the following hamlets and villages: Carham, Downham, Hagg, East and West Learmouth, Mindrum, Moneylaws, Presson, Shidlaw, Tithehill, Wark and Wark Common.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/48 1762-1866 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at  FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Carham, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1684-1996, marriages 1690-1987 and burials 1690-1998 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1684-1812 and marriages 1690-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1690-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1684-1812 and marriages and burials 1690-1812 for Carham are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 15:19.
  • This page has been accessed 808 times.