Carleton Rode, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Carlton Rode, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Carleton Rode, Norfolk
All Saints Carleton Rode.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLTON-RODE (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Attleborough. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. [1]

Carleton Rode All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The size of this church and it's neighbour Bunwell, Norfolk indicate the wealth of local landowners. Chancels of this size and age are rare, and were financed by rebuilding towards the end of the Middle Ages, as happened here with the nave. Despite subsequent renovation of the interior  several of the consecration crosses from its original opening in the late 13th century remain.The three large panels of the original glass survive and are rare in East Anglia. Two of them depict Evangelistic symbols, the Ox of St Luke and the Eagle of St John,with scrolls declaring Luccas Bos and Johannes Aquila. The third depicts a king playing a harp, and is David from the Old Testament.

The original tower suffered collapse in the 18th century, resulting in the lower tower seen today.

Parish Records

Carleton Rode, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Carleton Rode, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1560-1812

FREG 1725-1880
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1560-1802

NTA 1725-1811
1725-1812
1725-1812
PALL
1790-1812

TIN 1813-1880


Original Records are deposited at the Norfolk Record Office reference PD 254/ 1-11

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.

Poor Law Unions

Depwade Poor Law Union

Registration Districts

  • Depwade

Maps

England Jurisdictions

Military

Courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives:

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 520-523. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 5,984 times.