Carleton in Craven, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Carleton in Craven

Guide to Carleton in Craven, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carleton in Craven, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Skipton PLU
Registration District Skipton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Carleton in Craven is an ancient Parish in Yorkshire. The closest parish is Skipton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Carleton in Craven, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
CARLETON IN CRAVEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1537-1812 1537-1812 1537-1812 1537-1812 1537-1812 1537-1812
FREG 1539-1783 1539-1783 1538-1783
FS 1713-1870

1713-1845

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1537.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


Cite error: <ref> tags exist, but no <references/> tag was found

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,049 times.