Carlisle Holy Trinity, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Carlisle Holy Trinity, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Carlisle Holy Trinity, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Carlisle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1831|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1841|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
CARLISLE is comprised within the two parishes of St. Mary and St. Cuthbert. There are two district churches, namely, Holy Trinity, in the parish of St. Mary, and Christ Church, in that of St. Cuthbert. There are meeting-houses for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians and Roman Catholics.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Holy Trinity Church, Carlisle, 1831-1911 at the FHL
Church of England Parishes (and Chapelries)
- Carisle St Cuthbert - ancient parish - 1663
- Carlisle Christ Church - 1830
- Upperby Chapel - 1846
- Carlisle St Mary - ancient parish - 1648
- Carlisle Holy Trinity - 1831
- St James Chapelry - 1863
- St Paul Chapelry - 1870
- Wreay Chapelry - 1750
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Carlisle, but the exact parish has not been identified: see Carlisle page for details of records at the FHL
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Roman Catholics
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241285.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 14:08.
- This page has been accessed 2,817 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News