Carlisle St Cuthbert, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes go to Carlisle Borough

Guide to Carlisle St Cuthbert, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carlisle St Cuthbert, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Carlisle City; Cumberland
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle PLU
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLISLE is comprised within the two parishes of St. Mary and St. Cuthbert. There are two district churches, namely, Holy Trinity, in the parish of St. Mary, and Christ Church, in that of St. Cuthbert. There are meeting-houses for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's transcripts for St. Cuthbert's Church, Carlisle, 1666-1899 at the FHL

Church of England Parishes (and Chapelries)
Non-Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Carlisle, but the exact parish has not been identified: see Carlisle page for details of records at the FHL

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Baptists
  • Independents
  • Wesleyans
  • Roman Catholics

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241285.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Carlisle on Genuki

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 23 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,950 times.