Carlton County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Carlton County
Guide to Carlton County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Carlton County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 23, 1857 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Carlton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Carlton County Courthouse 301 Walnut Avenue Carlton, MN 55718 218-384-4281 218-384-9195 Carlton County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, probate, court,
land and naturalization records from 1972. [1]
History
Parent County
- 1857--Carlton County was created 23 May 1857 from Pine and St. Louis Counties. County seat: Carlton [2]
- For a brief history of how Carlton County was named, click here, then select Carlton County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Barnum | Carlton | Cloquet | Cromwell | Kettle River | Moose Lake | Scanlon | Thomson | Wrenshall | Wright
Townships
Atkinson Township | Automba Township | Barnum Township | Beseman Township | Blackhoof Township | Eagle Township | Holyoke Township | Kalevala Township | Lakeview Township | Mahtowa Township | Moose Lake Township | Perch Lake Township | Silver Township | Silver Brook Township | Skelton Township | Split Rock Township | Thomson Township | Twin Lakes Township | Wrenshall Township
Unincorporated Townships
Clear Creek | North Carlton
Unincorporated Communities
Atkinson | Automba | Duesler | Esko | Harney | Holyoke | Iverson | Mahtowa | Nemadji | Otter Creek | Pleasant Valley | Sawyer | Scotts Corner
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Hillcrest Cemetery, Cloquet, Carlton - interment.net
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Carlton County, Minnesota (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Carlton County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Family History Library Catalog
- Carlton County GenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Carlton County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carlton County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 23:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,381 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

