Carlton on Trent, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Carlton on Lindrick, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Carlton on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Carlton-on-Trent St+Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Carlton-on-Trent St+Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1782; For more records see Norwell
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CARLTON-UPON-TRENT, a chapelry, in the parish of Norwell, union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 6¾ miles (N.) from Newark. [1]

Additional information:

Carlton on Trent was formed as a chapelry within Norwell, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.

The parish council is part of Newark and Sherwood district in Nottinghamshire, the village is situated on the River Trent and adjacent to the A1 to the north of Newark.

This parish should not be confused with other villages called Carlton in Nottinghamshire or nearby counties: Gedling, Nottinghamshire Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire Great Carlton, Lincolnshire Little Carlton, Lincolnshire

The Southwell and Nottingham Church history project are researching this parish see Church history

The church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Resources

Cemetery

Carlton Old Burial Ground, Carlton Square. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1812, giving surname, given names, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 29-30, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Carlton on Trent, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Carlton on Trent, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undisclosed
Undisclosed

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Carlton on Trent

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

List of Inhabitants of Carlton Upon Trent 1845.  A listing of Surnames only,  no. of houses, and number in the family.  Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.VC 70/4, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 105, page 32, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Carlton on Trent in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/CarltononTrent/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 March 2015, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,091 times.