Carrington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Carrington

Guide to Carrington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Carrington, Cheshire
St georges church carrington greater manchester.png
St georges church carrington greater manchester
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1759
Bishop's Transcripts: 1876
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Carrington St George originally a chapelry in Bowdon parish from 1759, and created a separate parish in 1887. It includes Carrington and Partington.

The church was built by Isaac Shaw in 1757–59 for Mary, Countess of Stamford as a chapel of ease to serve the hamlets of Partington and Carrington. A chancel was added in 1872. The building is no longer used for worship.

St Mary's, Partington and Carrington is responsible for the churchyard. Recent clearance work uncovered the graves of two soldiers who had died during World War I.

The church closed in 1990 but the graveyard remains open for burials,under the supervision of Partington, St. Mary.

CARRINGTON, a township-chapelry in Bowden parish, Cheshire; on the Mersey, 3¼ miles NW of Broadheath railway station. Post Town, Ashton-on-Mersey. There are two Methodist chapels.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Carrington St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Carrington St George Parish (1759) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1759-1889


FS PR's 1759-1889
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1760-1894
  NONE
FS BT'S 1774-1895   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1773-1895
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers, 1759-1894 Cheshire Record Office call number: P271/1-3, P271/1.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1759-1889. Burials 1759-1894. Churchwarden accounts 1759-1876. BRITISH 1655854 Items 4-7

Bishop's transcripts of Carrington, a chapelry in Bowdon 1876-1895 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 45

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms and burials, 1876-1895. BRITISH 1647367 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Trafford [Greater Manchester] (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72), Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, ISBN 0300095880
  •  Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 September 2014, at 23:47.
  • This page has been accessed 5,083 times.