Carroll County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Arkansas
Carroll County
Guide to Carroll County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Carroll County, Arkansas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Arkansas | |||||||
![]() Location of Arkansas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | November, 1833 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Berryville | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| [[Image:|center|200px]] | |||||||
| Address | Carroll County Courthouse 210 W Church Street Berryville, AR 72616-4233 Phone: 870.423.2022 | ||||||
| |||||||
County Courthouse
Carroll County Courthouse
210 W Church Street
Berryville, AR 72616-4233
Phone: 870.423.2022
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1870. Clerk Circuit Court has land, divorce records from 1870.[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1870 |
|
|
1870 |
1870 |
History
Carroll County, Arkansas from Izard County by a legislative act passed 1 Nov 1833. That act took effect on 25 Dec 1833, making the county Arkansas's 26th county.
Prior to that, part of what is currently Northwest Arkansas and Northeast Oklahoma became Lovely County. Lovely County, which was intended as a residence for Native Americans, was in operation from 1827 to 1828. The Lovely County Citizen, published today in Carroll County's Eureka Springs, is named for the earlier county. Lovely County derived its name from William and Persis Lovely, a white couple who lived among the Cherokee.
In Jan 1834, Carrollton became the county seat and remained so until 1875 or 1880 (sources differ), when Berryville took its place. Currently, the county has dual county seats, Berryville and Eureka Springs. King's River serves as the jurisdictional line between these two county seats, with Berryville serving as the primary seat.
The White River flows through Carroll County. The area contains some of the most mountainous portions of the Ozark Mountains. The county has been noted for its oak and hickory forests and, currently, for poultry and beef production.
Tourism is also a significant industry in Carroll County. This is largely because of Eureka Springs, known as "Little Switzerland." Eureka Springs is characterized by Victorian buildings clustered on steep mountain streets. The county's other county seat, Berryville, is home to the Saunders Museum.
The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832) of Maryland. He was the last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence.[2] Carroll had died just the year before Carroll County was founded.
See also:
- Bunch, Bradley, History of Carroll County Arkansas, 1876 (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Carroll County (Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture)
- Carroll County, Arkansas (e-Reference Desk)
Parent County
- 1833--Caroll County was created 1 November 1833 from Izard County. County seats: Carroll County currently has dual county seats, Berryville and Eureka Springs.
Boundary Changes
- Carroll County originally comprised most of what is today Boone, Newton, and Carroll Counties, along with a small area that is now in northeastern Pope County.
- Part of Carroll County became Madison County in 1836.
- Part of Carroll County became Newton County in 1842.
- The northern part of Madison County was added to Carroll County in 1867.
- The eastern part of Carroll County became Boone County in 1869.
- Other minor boundary changes occurred in 1838, 1843, 1846, 1854, 1857, and 1869.
See an interactive map of Carroll County boundary changes at N2Genealogy.
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
- A courthouse fire in Dec 1869 destroyed all courthouse records dated up to that time.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- Alpena (Boone and Carroll Cos.): Wikipedia page
- Beaver: Wikipedia page
- Berryville: Berryville (Encyclopedia of AR History & Culture) | Historic Berryville (official site) | Wikipedia page
- Blue Eye: Wikipedia page
- Carrollton: Wikipedia page
- Eureka Springs: City History | Eureka Springs (Encyclopedia of AR History & Culture) | Eureka Springs: The Extraordinary Escape (official site) | Eureka Springs History | Eureka Springs Then and Now | Wikipedia page
- Green Forest: Wikipedia page
- Oak Grove
See also:
- Carroll County, Arkansas - Populated Place Names (Carroll County Historical Society)
Neighboring Counties
- Barry County, Missouri (northwest)
- Benton (west)
- Boone (east)
- Madison (south)
- Newton (southeast)
- Stone County, Missouri (north)
- Taney County, Missouri (northeast)
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
- Carroll County, Arkansas Cemeteries (Access Genealogy)
- Carroll County, Arkansas Tombstone Photos (GenWeb)
- Carroll County Cemeteries (GenWeb)
- Carroll County Cemeteries (Tombstone Transcription Project)
- Carroll County Cemetery Listings (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Carroll County Cemetery Locations (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Cemeteries (Linkpendium)
- Full Name Index (A-H) (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Full Name Index (I-P) (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Full Name Index (O-Z) (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Harrington, Jessie F., and Annie E. Harrington. Cemetery Records from Carroll Co., Arkansas and Barry Co., Missouri. [n.p.]: Self-published, 19--. WorldCat page
- Surname Cemetery Index (A-H) (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Surname Cemetery Index (I-J) (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Surname Cemetery Index (O-Z) (Carroll County Historical Society)
By individual cemetery
BillionGraves: Has Google map, searchable database for each cemetery, photos of headstones. Can also search globally for the burial in case the burial may have taken place at a different cemetery.
Census
General
- Early Census Statistics (Carroll County Historical Society)
1830
- 1830 census, Izard County (Carroll's parent county) (Carroll County Historical Society)
1840
- 1840 Census Index (S-K Publications via GenWebArchives)
- 1840 Census Index (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4
- 1840 U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas. Wichita, KS: S-K Publications, [1987?]. WorldCat page
- Worley, Ted R. United States Census (Index) Carroll County, Arkansas 1840; U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas, 1850. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas History Commission, 1957. WorldCat page
1850
- 1850 Census (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4
- 1850 Census Index (S-K Publications via GenWeb Archives)
- 1850 Census Index (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2
- 1850 Slave Schedule (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Crisp, Robert M. Index to Heads of Households, Carroll Co., Arkansas 1850 Census. Fayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas College of Engineering, 1991. WorldCat page
- Melson, James E. Arkansas, Carroll County, 1850 Census. Muskogee, OK: Self-published, 1995. WorldCat page
- Presley, Mrs. Leister E. Carroll County, Arkansas, 1850. Searcy, AR: Self-published, 1970. WorldCat page
- Schunk, John F. 1850 U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas. Wichita, KS: S-K Publications, 1987. WorldCat page
- Snow, Joy L. 1850 Carroll County, Arkansas. Marshfield, MO: J.L. Snow, n.d. Family History Library
- Worley, Ted R. U.S. Census, Carroll County Arkansas, 1850. [1959?]. WorldCat page
1860
- 1860 census index (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Buckley, Sandra Johns. 1860 Federal Census Carroll County, Arkansas. Fair Play, MO: Self-published, 1991. WorldCat page
1870
- 1870 Census Images (GenWeb Archives)
- 1870 Census Index (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Index to Online Census Images, 1870 (GenWeb Archives)
- Looney, Janice Soutee. Carroll Co. Arkansas 1870 Federal Census. Walnut Grove, MO: J.S. Looney, 1989. WorldCat page
1880
- 1880 Census Images (GenWeb Archives)
- 1880 Census Surname Index (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Fayetteville Public Library Genealogy Dept. Partial Index to the 1880 Carroll County Arkansas Federal Census. Fayetteville, AR: Fayetteville Public Library, 1990. WorldCat page
1920
- "Anna (Allred Smith) - Pension Mountain Teacher - 1920 Census" (article about collecting the 1920 census), Carroll County Historical Quarterly, Sep 1963, pp. 5-6 (Carroll County Historical Society)
1930
- "Census Work" (article about preparations for collecting the 1930 census), Green Forest Tribune, 22 Mar 1900 (Carroll County Historical Society)
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
- Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center, Springfield, MO: Eureka Springs figures prominently in the early 20th century pre-denominational history of Pentecostalism. The Flower Center houses a number of periodicals, photographs, and other archival materials pertaining to pre-World War I Pentecostalism in Eureka Springs, Carroll Co., AR.
- Hicks, Freda Biggerstaff. Church Records of Union United Baptist Church, Carroll County, Arkansas. [AR?]: Self-published, 1989. WorldCat page
- Winona Church/School, Winona Springs, Carroll County (Arkansas Historic Preservation Program)
Court
The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Carroll County, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has court records dating from 1870.
- Agee, Peg. Eureka Springs Feud Ends Deadly: Based on Actual Events - Court Transcripts Included. Bloomington, IN: Anchor House, 2008. Google Books preview
Education
- Douglass Community School History (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Green Forest High School 1892 Closing Exercise Program (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Winona Church/School, Winona Springs, Carroll County (Arkansas Historic Preservation Program)
Genealogy
General:
- Biographies: Extensive menu, primarily from Goodspeed's history (GenWeb Archives)
- History and Families, Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. WorldCat page
- Russell, Jesse Lewis. Behind These Ozark Hills (manuscript). Family History Library
- York, Courtney. Arkansas Carroll County Biographies, 1889. San Jose, CA: House of York, 1971. WorldCat page
Specific families:
- [Bunch]: Bradley Bunch (Carroll County Historical Society)
- [Chaney]: Chaney Log House (Historic American Building Surveys at Library of Congress)
- [Gaskins]: Gaskins, John. Life and Adventures of John Gaskins in the Early History of Northwest Arkansas: True Tales by an Old Hunter. Eureka Springs, AR: Eureka Springs Historical Museum, [1980?]. WorldCat page
- [Usrey]: Rob & Janie (Phillips) Usrey (Carroll County Historical Society)
Land and Property
The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Carroll County, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has land records dating from 1870.
- Allen, Desmond Walls. Arkansas State Donation and Swamp Lands: Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Fulton, Izard, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, and Stone Counties, 1855-2001. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 2003. WorldCat page
- Allen, Desmond Walls, and Bobbie Jones McLane. Arkansas Land Patents, Carroll County: Granted Through 30 Jun 1908. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 1991. WorldCat page
- Bureau of Land Management, General Land Office: Land patents for Carroll County can be searched and viewed online, with scans of the original documents accessible. Searching for Carroll County patents with no particular individual's name yields 205 pages of hits.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Carroll County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
- Bunch, Bradley. History of Carroll County Arkansas, 1876. (Carroll County Historical Society)
- City of Eureka Springs: City History
- Cragon, Harvey G. The Eureka Springs Railway: An Automobile Tour into the Past. Dallas, TX: Cragon Books, 2007.
- Danielson, Kay Marnon. Eureka Springs, Arkansas (Images of America series). Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2001. Google Books preview
- Eureka Springs History
- Eureka Springs Then and Now: Culture and History of Eureka Springs, Arkansas
- Griffith, Rue. History of Rule Community, 1955. (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Hanley, Ray, and Diane Hanley. Carroll and Boone Counties, Arkansas. Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 1999. WorldCat page
- History and Families, Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. Family History Library | WorldCat page
- History of Carroll County, Arkansas. Berryville, AR: Carroll County Historical Society, 2005 (reprint of Goodspeed's 19th century history with extra material added). WorldCat page
- Keefe, James F., and Lynn Morrow, eds. The White River Chronicles of S.C. Turnbo: Man and Wildlife on the Ozarks Frontier. University of Arkansas Press, 1994. Google Books preview | publisher's page
- Lair, Jim, ed. Carroll County Families: These Were the First. Berryville, AR: Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, 1991. Family History Library
- Lair, Jim, and O. Klute Braswell. An Outlander's History of Carroll County, Arkansas, 1830-1983. Marceline, MO: Walsworth Publishing Co., 1983. Family History Library | WorldCat page
- A Pictorial Heritage of Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. WorldCat page
Maps
- Carroll County Section/Township/Range Map (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Eureka Springs Sanborn Maps (Eureka Springs History)
- Libre Map Project: Contains extremely detailed online topographic maps for Carroll County
Military
General
- 1883 Pension List (Carroll County Historical Society)
Civil War
- Captain Larkin Bunch's Civil War Unit Roster (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Carroll County, Arkansas (Community & Conflict: The Impact of the Civil War in the Ozarks)
- Carroll County Sesquicentennial Civil War Marker (grant award mentioned; Arkansas Humanities Council)
- Carroll County United Confederate Veteran Reunion Extractions from Green Forest Tribune (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Civil War Unit of Captain George E. Gaddy, Carroll County, Arkansas (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Known Confederate Soldiers Buried in Carroll County (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Known Union Soldiers Buried in Carroll County (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Lemley, J.B., Lester Finley, and Elaine Cia. Civil War Letters: Capt. Jno. R. Homer Scott's Squadron of Cavelry [sic] in Pope County, Arkansas and Carroll County, Arkansas. [no publication data]: 1986. WorldCat page
- Massey, James Troy. Confederates Buried in Boone, Baxter, Carroll, Newton and Searcy Counties, Arkansas. Harrison, AR: Self-published, 1997. Family History Library | WorldCat page
World War II
- McGaughey, Muriel. Carroll County Men with the Colors: 1942-1945. [S.I.]: O.K. Braswell, 194-. WorldCat page
- WW 2 Army and Air Force Casualties Carroll County ARGenweb
Miscellaneous
- Bird's Eye View of Eureka Springs, Ark. (abt 1914; Library of Congress)
- Carroll County Oral Histories (grant award mentioned; Arkansas Humanities Council)
- Carroll County Postcards (Penny Postcards from Arkansas)
- Panoramic View of Eureka Springs, Arkansas (abt 1901; Library of Congress)
- Photos (Carroll County Historical Society)
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Carroll County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Carroll County News, Berryville, Carroll Co., AR (currently in operation)
- Chronicling America list of historic newspapers in Carroll County (Library of Congress)
- Eureka Springs Flashlight, Friday, January 8, 1909 (transcriptions; Carroll County Historical Society)
- Green Forest Tribune, Thursday, December 28, 1899 (transcriptions; Carroll County Historical Society)
- Lovely County Citizen, Eureka Springs, Carroll Co., AR (currently in operation; see the History section, above, for an explanation of the paper's unique title)
Occupations
Probate Records
The County Clerk, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has probate records dating as early as 1870.
- Eastern District Will Book A, 1869-1930 (index; Carroll County Historical Society)
- Western District Will Book A, 1883-1909 (index; Carroll County Historical Society)
Taxation
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Tax records are housed at the county courthouse and at the Arkansas History Commission.
- 1834 Tax List (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Pyron, Shirley Hamby, and Juanita Norris Buell. 1890 Reconstructed Census of Carroll County, Arkansas, from 1890 Personal Property Tax Records. AR: Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, [1986?]. WorldCat page
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
Birth
Marriage
The County Clerk, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has marriage records dating as early as 1870.
- Carroll County, Arkansas Historic Marriage Index. Berryville, AR: Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, 1995. WorldCat page
- 1869-1930 - Carroll County Arkansas Marriage Records Eastern District Grooms Index 1869-1930 (Carroll County Historical Society)
- Carroll County Marriages (GenWeb)
- Pinkerton, Shirley, and O. Klute Braswell. Carroll County, Arkansas Marriage Index, Eastern District. [no publication data], 1983. WorldCat page
- 1869-1951 - Shubert, Dwight. Carroll County, Arkansas Marriage Index, 1869-1951. Sherwood, AR: Self-published, 1999. WorldCat page
- 1869-1930 - Snow, John L. Carroll County, Arkansas Marriages 1869-1930 Eastern & Western District, Grooms. Marshfield, MO: Self-published, 200-. WorldCat page
- 1870-1944 - Carroll County Marriage Books A-Q Index 1870-1944 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1874-1922 - Carroll County Marriage Books A-I Index 1874-1922 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Divorce
- 1870-1897 Carroll County Arkansas Divorce Records, Chancery Court Book A, 1870-1897 (Carroll County Histoirical Society)
Death
- Allen, Desmond Walls. Northwestern Arkansas Death Record Index: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, and Washington Counties. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 1996. WorldCat page
- Parton, Reta DeShields, Tonya Parton Williams, and Vineta Wingate. Carroll County, Arkansas Burial Association, Member Deaths, 1941-1962. AR: R.D. Parton, [2002?]. WorldCat
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Berryville Public Library
- Carroll County Arkansas Historical Society
- Eureka Springs Carnegie Public Library
- Eureka Springs Historical Museum
- Saunders Museum, Berryville
- Shiloh Museum of Ozark History, Springdale, Washington Co.
Family History Centers
Websites
- Berryville (The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture)
- Carroll County (The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture)
- Carroll County Archives (U.S. GenWeb Archives)
- Carroll County, Arkansas: "These Were the First" (local history)
- Carroll County, Arkansas Genealogical Forum (GenForum)
- Carroll County Arkansas Genealogy & Family History Resources (Kindred Trails)
- Carroll County, Arkansas Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources (n2genealogy)
- Carroll County, Arkansas GenWeb
- Carroll County Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Eureka Springs (The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture)
- Eureka Springs History
- Family History Library Catalog
- Welcome to Carroll County (official site)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
- ↑ Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 20:19.
- This page has been accessed 3,336 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


