Carroll County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Carroll County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Carroll County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 11, 1826
County Seat Carrollton
Courthouse
Address Carroll County Courthouse
423 College Street
PO Box 338
Carrollton, GA 30117
Phone: 770.830.5801
Carroll County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Carroll County Courthouse
423 College Street
PO Box 338
Carrollton, GA 30117
Phone: 770.830.5801

Clerk superior Court has divorce records from 1900, land and court records from 1828; Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1827; County Health Department has birth and death records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Carroll County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1827



1827

History

Charles Carroll.JPG

The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[2]

Parent County

1826--Carroll County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands.  County seat:  Carrollton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1928. The courthouse at Carrollton burned early 4 February 1928. Very few records were lost thanks to a fire-proof vault.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cleburne County  • Coweta County  • Douglas County  • Fulton County  • Haralson County  • Heard County  • Paulding County  • Randolph County

Carroll CountyHaralson CountyPaulding CountyPolk CountyFloyd CountyDouglas CountyCobb CountyFulton CountyDeKalb CountyClayton CountyFayette CountySpalding CountyCoweta CountyPike CountyMeriwether CountyTroup CountyHeard CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyCleburne CountyCherokee CountyEtowah CountyDeKalb CountyCalhoun CountyTalladega CountyGACarroll.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1892-1895 - Carroll County Colored Marriage Book A Index 1892-1895. Batch M712364 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  Index to Carroll County Deed Book A 1852-1896 Georgia Pioneers

  Index to Carroll County Deed Book 1858-1863 Georgia Pioneers

  Carroll County Superior Court Index to Deeds 1801-2012 Real Estate Index

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carroll County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Carroll County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County, Georgia:


- 1st Regiment, Georgia Reserves (Fannin's) (Confederate), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K
- 7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and I
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, C, H and I
- Military - Civil War- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1852-1894 - Index of Carroll Co., GA, Will Book A - 1852 - 1894 at GAGenWeb - free.
  • 1852-1900 Carroll County Wills (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Annual Returns 1854-1857 Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Carroll County Will Book A 1852-1896 Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Carroll County Will Book B 1896-1922 Georgia Pioneers
  • General Index to Carroll County Annual Returns and Vouchers 1831-1885 Georgia Pioneers

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1827-1887 - Carroll County Marriage Books C and D Index 1827-1887. Batch M712361 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1877-1887 - Carroll County Marriage Books E and F Index 1877-1887. Batch M712362 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1887-1897 - Carroll County Marriage Book G Index 1887-1897. Batch M712363 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Death
  • 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Carroll County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 18-19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 September 2014, at 02:21.
  • This page has been accessed 17,353 times.