Carroll County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Illinoisgo to Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records

Coordinates: 42.06°0′N 89.92°0′W / 42.06°N 89.92°W / 42.06; -89.92

Carroll County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Carroll County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 22, 1839
County Seat Mount Carroll
Courthouse
Carroll County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Carroll County Courthouse
301 North Main St.
Mt. Carroll, Illinois 61053
(815) 244-0221
Carroll County Website

Contents

Carroll County Organization

Carroll County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Carroll County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1839 1877 1840 1837 1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Carroll County are kept, see the Carroll County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Charles Carroll.JPG
The county is named after Charles Carroll of Carrollton (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Boundary Changes

Prior to County Formation

County Formation and After

For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Carroll County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties, or For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

go to Find A Grave, list of cemeteries. Additional information can be found at local level (city, township, etc.)

Census

For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190018,963
191018,035−4.9%
192019,3457.3%
193018,433−4.7%
194017,987−2.4%
195018,9765.5%
196019,5072.8%
197019,276−1.2%
198018,779−2.6%
199016,805−10.5%
200016,674−0.8%
201015,387−7.7%
IL Counties 1900-1990

State

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Carroll County on page 186.]

Church History and Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information. It is usually best to locate church records with a search at a local level such as the city, town, or village.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1849-1861 County Court Miscellaneous Files IRAD-NIU
  • 1867-1944 Insanity Dockets IRAD-NIU

Directories

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Funeral Homes

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Online Resources

Maps

Ilcarroll.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Carroll County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B (Also known as Rosecran's Escort).
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 34th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 45th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and E.
- 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 71st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 92nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and I.
- 142nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G.
- 146th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.

World War I

World War II

Naturalizations

The Carroll County Genealogical Society's website includes several naturalization collections:

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Carroll County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1839-1962 Probate Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1860-1955 Probate Appraisement Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1865-1957 Probate Inventory Record IRAD-NIU
  • 1865-1967 Probate Will Record IRAD-NIU

Online Resources

The Clerk of the Circuit Court has responsibility for the probate records of Carroll County. Carroll County is building a free, searchable database of all Closed Probate Records. (id: probate; password: cccc)

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Carroll County are kept, see the Carroll County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site.

Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Carroll County. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Freeport Illinois Family History Center
1716 S Forest Rd.
Freeport, Illinois 61032
Telephone: (815) 232-3310
Sterling Illinois Family History Center
2709 N 16th Avenue
Sterling, Illinois 61081
Telephone: (815) 625-1229

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for Carroll County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

Public Libraries

The following Carroll County libraries have collections of specific interest to genealogists.

Lanark Public Library
110 W. Carroll St.
Lanark, Illinois 61046
Telephone: (815) 493-8045
Note that their Genealogy and Local History collection does not circulate.

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Carroll County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Carroll County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Copies of Original Records

Online Resources

Marriages

Copies of Original Records

  • 1839-1964Marriage Record

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of Original Records

  • 1872-1906 Coroner's Inquest Record
  • 1877-1913 Death Certificates
  • 1877-1963 Death Record Index
  • 1920-1928 Death Certificate Record, Stillbirths

Online Resources

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 March 2014, at 01:32.
  • This page has been accessed 29,942 times.