Carroll County, Maryland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Carroll County, Maryland)

United States Gotoarrow.png Maryland Gotoarrow.png Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maryland
Online Records

Carroll County, Maryland
Map of Maryland highlighting Carroll County
Location in the state of Maryland
Map of the U.S. highlighting Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
Founded January 19, 1837
County Seat Westminster
Address Carroll County Courthouse
225 North Center St.
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410-876-2085
Carroll County Website


Carroll County Maryland Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1898 1837 1898 1840 1837 1837

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records 1837-1900
not indexed and from 1900 indexed, divorce, court
and land records from 1837. [1]

Carroll County Maryland History

  • Named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton (he signed this way) (1737-1832), the last surviving signer of Declaration of Independence.

Parent County

  • 1837--Carroll County was created 19 January 1837 from Baltimore and Frederick counties by taking the following hundreds from Baltimore County: North Hundred, Pipe Creek Hundred, Delaware Upper Hundred, Delaware Lower Hundred and from Frederick County: Pipe Creek Hundred, Westminster Hundred, Unity Hundred, Burnt House Hundred, Piney Creek Hundred, and Taneytown Hundred.  County seat: Westminster.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

  • Carrol

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Maryland counties see: Maryland Counties with Burned Courthouses

Carroll County Maryland Places/Localities

Populated Places

Carroll County Boundary Map.jpg
  • Taneytown
  • Hampstead
  • Manchester
  • Mount Airy
  • New Windsor
  • Sykesville
  • Union Bridge
  • Alesia
  • Carrollton
  • Carrolltowne
  • Detour
  • Eldersburg
  • Finksburg
  • Frizzelburg
  • Gaither
  • Gamber
  • Greenmount
  • Harney
  • Henryton
  • Keymar
  • Jasontown
  • Lineboro
  • Linwood
  • Louisville
  • Mayberry
  • Mexico
  • Middleburg
  • Millers
  • New Mexico
  • Patapsco
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Silver Run
  • Union Mills
  • Uniontown
  • Woodbine
  • Woodstock

Neighboring Counties

Maryland counties:

Pennsylvania counties:

Carroll County Maryland Genealogy Resources

Cemeteries Cemetery Listings for Carroll County, MD. Includes contact information for many cemeteries in the county and volunteer contributed index lists for many of them.


Federal Census reports available 1840-1930 including slave and veterans schedules. For tips on accessing Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.


Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.




  • [Winchester] Boddie, John Thomas and John Bennett Boddie. Boddie and Allied Families. Chicago: n.p., 1918. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.


Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Carroll County Deed Books (1837-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories



Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Carroll County on page 127.]
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Carroll County, pp. 140-142. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Civil War service men from Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Carroll County.

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Companies D, E, F and G.
- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies A and C.
- 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies D and F.



Research Guides

  • Carroll County Genealogical Society. A Guide to Genealogical Research in Carroll County. Westminster, Md.: Carroll County Genealogical Society, 1991.
  • Souza, Eileen A. “Research in Carroll County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 53, no. 2 (2012): 307-324.


  • 1793 - "1793 Tax, Taylorsville Area," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1989):172-174.
  • 1798 - Horvath, George J. The Particular Assessment Lists for Baltimore and Carroll Counties - 1798. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1991.

Vital Records


Carroll County Maryland Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Carroll County Genealogical Society
CCGS P.O. Box 1752
Westminster, MD 21158

Historical Society of Carroll County
210 East Main Street
Westminster MD 21157
410 848-6494

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Carroll County Maryland Genealogy Websites

Carroll County Maryland Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2015, at 12:40.
  • This page has been accessed 22,840 times.