Carroll County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Carroll County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Carrollton
Courthouse
Address Carroll County Courthouse
County Courthouse
Carrollton, MO 64633
Phone: 816.542.0615
Carroll County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Clerk has birth records 1883-1895
and death records 1883-1890; Clerk Circuit Court
has divorce and court records from 1833
and naturalization records 1843-1919; Recorder
Deeds has marriage records,  land records from 1833;
Probate Office has probate records[1]

History

Charles Carroll.JPG

The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[2]

Parent County

1833--Carroll County was created 2 January 1833 from Ray County. County seat: Carrollton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Caldwell  • Chariton  • Lafayette  • Livingston  • Ray  • Saline

Carroll CountyChariton CountyRandolph CountyMacon CountyClinton CountyGrundy CountyCooper CountyDeKalb CountyHoward CountyRay CountySaline CountyLafayette CountyPettis CountyClay CountyJohnson CountyJackson CountyCaldwell CountyLivingston CountyDaviess CountyLinn CountyMOCarroll.jpg


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Callaway Burial Ground now called Hurricane Cemetery next to the Hurricane Baptist Church.

Census

For tips on accessing Carroll County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Mary's, Carrollton

  • 1869-1876 - St. Mary's, Carrollton, Baptism Index 1869-1876. Batch C511931 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869-1885 - St. Mary's, Carrollton, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M511931 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carroll County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mocarroll.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
:- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
:- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company C
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company D
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
:- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company A
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company E
:- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company F

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1870-1872 - Carroll County Birth Index 1870-1872. Batch C514731 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1883-1895 - Carroll County Birth Index 1883-1895. Batch C514735 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1890 - Carroll County Death Index 1883-1890. Batch B514734 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1883-1895 - Carroll County Death Index 1883-1895. Batch B514738 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Carroll County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Carroll County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Carroll County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Carroll County, Missouri
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Carroll County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Carroll County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 9,704 times.